We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Lairgate recently and found it really good. We had an Executive room at the rear; it was large, beautifully furnished and well-equipped. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We didn't try the restaurant, other than breakfast, which was fine. Highly recommended in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelajni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    123
    45
    23
    20
See reviews for
50
141
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

AN excellent hotel, with superb staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for a weekend here - parking on site (quite tight on room, but possible). There was jazz on the Friday night which was of a high standard, and the breakfast each morning was really excellent - both buffet and cooked options as part of the price. It's really the staff who make it, though.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so perhaps phone the hotel to talk through your choice first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in Beverley. The hotel was very welcoming and friendly. We were concerned that there was not a lift as my husband cannot manage many stairs but there are plenty of rooms on the ground floor - we stayed in number 32 which was really spacious, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - if you order the full english be prepared you will need a rest afterwards! There is a car park but it is rather small. There was a space but we were concerned about how close our large estate car was to others. However the hotel staff were most helpful and alerted us as soon as another space became available.

A few minutes walk brings you to the town centre and a large variety of shops - a few more minutes walk takes you to the Minster.

The hotel also offers lunch, tea and dinner but we were part of a large group staying in various places so we dined in town.

There is live jazz every Friday in the lounge - we enjoyed listening - and also found that the music did not penetrate our bedroom at all which was incredibly quiet and restful.

We will be back again next year and will certainly look to stay at this hotel again - thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in number 32 which was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a nice town, the rooms are spacious, the staff are really nice, the breakfast was very nice although the service at breakfast was a bit slow, one old lady on her own wasn't enough staff. i love the idea of not having to make your own toast, i really hate those table top toasters, that's a personal thing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Two of my friends and I stayed for three nights. We had travelled to Beverley for a friends wedding. Upon our arrival the staff were very warm and friendly. We ordered refreshments while we waited for our luggage to be taken to our rooms. Also, we were delighted with the cleanliness and if you wanted anything, your request was dealt with immediately. We also found that the decor and furnishings added to the charm of the building. There was an excellent choice at breakfast and the poached eggs were perfectly cooked. I will most certainly return again. Thanks to all of the staff who made my stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo1Elliott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

i stayed at the Lairgate hotel in Beverley for a weekend with the wife on the 1st/2nd July 2012.
the staff where very polite and helpful and the hotel itself is a very charming building with very nice features throughout. we only had the one meal in the hotel due to day trips but it was 5* all the way. a nice selection of drinks at the bar witch was a lovely place to relax and chat. the breakfast bar was full of options and the full english breakfast was a great way to end the weekend. i would defanatly return to the Lairgate hotel in the future. thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelogan213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had stayed in this hotel many years before and thoroughly enjoyed it, before the change of ownership and Best Western additions. Sadly disappointed by our experience this time as part of a larger group attending a wedding. 4 rooms for 2 nights B&B later and we regard this hotel as 'Faulty Towers'.

Whilst the rooms were comfortable and clean, the rest of experience did not match. An executive room booked was not as described, and when queried the guest was told they were wrong until staff were shown their own website description. Boiled eggs not cooked (raw egg white), poached egg on toast without the toast then left in front of the guest until toast brought later by which time egg was cold, smoked haddock which was cold and still raw when served and when a complaint was made to management (waitress not in sight) guest was then told off by the waitress for complaining.
Whilst some refurbishment and redecoration appears to have taken place there is much still in need of attention. Furniture in the bar and restaurant is all very old and tired looking, chair springs non-existant so when you sit to a meal you disappear into a hollow in the chair. We reckon they are the same chairs we sat on back in 1994!

In their defence we were offered a discount on our bill by way of recompense - but then we do consider this hotel is now overpriced for what it offers. We were also offered a complimentary meal by way of apology but when it came to it we were not impressed by the dining experience either. This hotel had a fine a la carte menu and served beautiful food last time we visited, now the fare is very very ordinary, and we are not impressed by a 'chef' who makes so much use of the microwave. Vegetables were barely palatable due to the 'nuke' treatment and the green beans were shrivelled to a crisp. We passed on dessert and asked for coffee - wish we hadn't. It had clearly been kept on a heater for hours before we got it and was undrinkable.

Such a shame when we remember how much we enjoyed our first visit - we won't be coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing