We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A fabulous two days away, the room was beautiful and the kingsize bed was a treat. The owners could not have be more kind. Breakfast was delicious and I can't find fault. The only negative is that by posting this I may not get a room when I return! Newbegin=fully booked.:-)
If you would like style, elegance, good value for money and two minutes from town,this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deniseisinthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Newbegin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked Newbegin House for a birthday treat for my husband and he was very impressed. On arrival we were shown into the sitting room and served pots of tea and coffee with homemade cake whilst we waited for our room,we arrived extremely early. The b&b is full of charm and old character which is often lacking in modern accommodation. Our room was furnished with antique furniture in keeping with the rest of the house and had wonderful views overlooking the garden. Breakfast was served in the dining room,good local quality food and plenty of it. The location of Newbegin House is a bonus only a couple of minutes walk into the centre of town but yet set in a quite area. Another bonus is free car parking on site. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent short stay, comfortable beds and very welcoming host. Highly reccomended if your a fan of old spacious georgian town houses that are decorated accordingly. Very much a home full of character and far from a modern straight edged hotel.
Breakfast was also very satisfying.
Windows in our room/bathroom were tricky to open and could do with a fitted shower (rather than a bath shower,) but over all very highly reccomended !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My 3rd stay Newbegin House and for sure it won't be my last. Walter & Nuala's beautiful house and generous hospitality is everything that you could hope for... and more. I once again had the Appleton Room which has a wonderfully olde-worlde charm that most other B&Bs can only dream about. This is tastefully coupled with modern additions such as a spacious and revitalising shower, a hugely useful fridge, and a high quality digital TV and bedside radio. Oh, and it has the softest bed you're likely to find anywhere. Newbegin's legendary breakfasts never fail to live up to their reputations: delicious, varied and filling. Staying at Newbegin House whilst visiting Beverley means that you have "a home" to go back to rather than "a hotel" so make your booking now!

Room Tip: Each of the three rooms are private and quiet and have a distinct character all of their own. So tak...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkshirebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Myself and my husband have been staying here on and off for 4 weeks now while we are relocating and have found it a real pleasure amongst all the other chaos in our lives. Walter and his family have been very accommodating and have been great hosts to us for this time. The rooms are a good size (we have stayed in 2 of the 3), the beds are really comfortable (the bedding/mattress are clearly very high quality) and the rooms are well equipped with a small fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities including filter coffee and soft drinks too. The rooms are all traditional and have lots of period features and have always been very clean when we arrived. The bathrooms are well stocked with toiletries and the shower/bath have always had fantastic pressure and temperature in the morning and evening which you don't always get in B & Bs and hotels. It's very central in location and yet we haven't been bothered by town noise at all and parking is easy too. Breakfast offers a great choice of cereals, fruit and toast and lots of local produce to put on it. We haven't yet tried one of the owners infamous breakfasts, but they have won awards so I don't think it will be long before we request one! Overall, it's been a pleasure staying here and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Beverley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverleyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stumbled upon Newbegin via trip Advisor days before we had to travel up to Beverley unexpectedly. We were lucky enough to be allocated the drawing room, a vast, spacious and elegant twin/four bedded room. It felt a little like staying in a Jane Austen novel; with modern comforts (copious hot water; fridge; teamaking facilities etc) and masses of books. Run of the mill B&B this is not. Owners brought my mother earl gray teabags; the breakfasts are excellent - fresh fruit, preserves, much of food locally sourced. A gem. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erskinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The owners are a pleasant and friendly family. We had the Iveson bedroom which is a clean quiet relaxing room with comfortable king size bed. There is a good view of the large garden from the Iveson room. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served in a beautiful dinning room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23,605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
0.4 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#1 of 15 in Beverley
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number One Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range: $68 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing