We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This grade two listed and beautiful Georgian house is the only 5 star B&B in Beverley and justifiably earns this award. Set in a quiet street yet only a two minute walk from the town centre and Saturday Market it is a real gem. Home to Walter Sweeney and his family it is difficult to find fault with any aspect of the accommodation and service. Large, comfortable bedrooms traditionally furnished and with every facility. My room (the Iveson) had a proper en suite bathroom (as opposed to the all too familiar cubicle masquerading as such). Well heated with lashings of hot water and large, quality towels. Wonderful breakfasts with an excellent selection of dishes, including fresh fruit salad and lovely fresh bread. Nothing was too much trouble for my kindly and friendly host. By far the best B&B that I have stayed in for a very long time.

Room Tip: The Iveson overlooks part of the extensive garden, faces South West, and the bathroom has a large ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheffieldOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 305 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

At Newbegin House, you are guaranteed a very warm welcome.
Everything works, showers, loos, taps, hair dryers, wifi, electric blankets, TV
And free parking too!
The beds are comfortable, with crisp linen and a brilliant breakfast awaits you in the stately dining room. There is also a charming sitting room made available as well.
Whomsoever could ask for more?
We have been there twice now and would go out of our way to visit again.
Unhesitatingly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fabulous old house lovingly restored. We were warmly welcomed by Walter and enjoyed tea/coffee and cookies by a crackling open fire. Nothing was too much trouble and a wholesome breakfast was served at a time to suit our requirements.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneWoroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable night's rest at Newbegin in a warm and spacious room. We were made to feel welcome and and the offer of tea and cake when we arrived after a long journey was much appreciated. The house's history adds to the charm of the building, which is ideally located for exploring the lovely town of Beverley on foot. A splendid breakfast was served in the fine dining room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stroller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for one night when working up in Beverley and it was ideal. The room was very warm and cosy on a freezing March evening, it was a good size with a desk, amazingly comfy bed, super powerful shower and quick wi-fi. Learning about the history of the house from Walter, and what he's done to restore it, was really interesting and he was full of useful advice. Top notch breakfast too. Definitely be back next time I'm working in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight at Newbegin House, a lovely family home. Our room was comfortable and quite large, although not as large as the family room at the front of the house, which looked fabulous. We were welcomed by Walter Sweeney, the owner, with tea and cake and I think it was also Walter who cooked us breakfast (also delicious). He was the perfect host!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the family room, very kindly paid for by her mother as a birthday present. The house is loverly, has grand but still cosy feel our room was huge, great bed and linen a recently refurbished bathroom; the room had a quirky feel (in a good way), a big tv and a fridge with cold drinks which was a nice extra to tea and coffee. The house is in a great location in the heart of Beverley but on a side street so very quite, you can also park at the house which is a bonus.

My girlfriend and I are true foodies my girlfriend runs a food blog cooking and reviewing restaurants, our visit to Beverley was to visit Dine on the Rowe. For me the breakfast is very important and I wasn't disappointed! The cooked breakfast was brilliant in fact the best cooked breakfast I've had in a B&B, all local produce and perfectly cooked, there was also fresh fruit salad and fleshy squeezed juice, oh and loverly coffee.

Walter is a true british gentleman carried our luggage and can answer any questions a really friendly chap, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriskemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
599 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#1 of 15 in Beverley
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number One Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range: $66 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing