We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand old house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #1 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A grand old house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for one night when working up in Beverley and it was ideal. The room was very warm and cosy on a freezing March evening, it was a good size with a desk, amazingly comfy bed, super powerful shower and quick wi-fi. Learning about the history of the house from Walter, and what he's done to restore it, was really interesting and he was full of useful advice. Top notch breakfast too. Definitely be back next time I'm working in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank experience_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
171
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight at Newbegin House, a lovely family home. Our room was comfortable and quite large, although not as large as the family room at the front of the house, which looked fabulous. We were welcomed by Walter Sweeney, the owner, with tea and cake and I think it was also Walter who cooked us breakfast (also delicious). He was the perfect host!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the family room, very kindly paid for by her mother as a birthday present. The house is loverly, has grand but still cosy feel our room was huge, great bed and linen a recently refurbished bathroom; the room had a quirky feel (in a good way), a big tv and a fridge with cold drinks which was a nice extra to tea and coffee. The house is in a great location in the heart of Beverley but on a side street so very quite, you can also park at the house which is a bonus.

My girlfriend and I are true foodies my girlfriend runs a food blog cooking and reviewing restaurants, our visit to Beverley was to visit Dine on the Rowe. For me the breakfast is very important and I wasn't disappointed! The cooked breakfast was brilliant in fact the best cooked breakfast I've had in a B&B, all local produce and perfectly cooked, there was also fresh fruit salad and fleshy squeezed juice, oh and loverly coffee.

Walter is a true british gentleman carried our luggage and can answer any questions a really friendly chap, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very relaxing especially being able to have breakfast whenever not the regimented before 9am that you often get in a B&B. Very hospitable host, extremely large rooms which were nice and warm. The shower is great though not for the fainthearted!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Walter gave us a very warm welcome and is extremely knowledgeable about the local area. The room we stayed in was lovely and very cosy. The shower was large and strong and some really nice toiletries were provided. The guest house is located really close to the market area of the town which is really great! Would recommend!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzydancerBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the family room which was warm and comfortable with lots of extras to make our stay very enjoyable.
We appreciated the owner sharing the amazing history of the house and the town of Beverley. The breakfasts were excellent with locally sourced fresh food.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaitigerThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Now retired, my wife and I take a couple of days away once a month.We have never found a hotel / B&B that we would return to. Until now. Walter Sweeny happened to be in the car park when we arrived ,he shook my hand, opened the car door for my wife,then took us up to our room carrying our bag.The time for breakfast was our choice.A first class welcome by any standard,in fact the best one we have ever had..Walters advice for evening dining at Farthings proved to be a very good choice.Our bedroom was very large ,the bed ,most comfortable ,linen, top quality,no complaint there .the bathroom was equipped with a large power shower,and what power!Breakfast turned out to be an event ,What was available was anything and everything you might want,and the Yorkshire breakfast was huge .Walter ,an ex rugby prop ,ex solicitor ,former M.P.can talk on any subject ,and he does,with great charm and wit .I almost forgot to mention Walters little helper ,called Wacky a most delightful young Japanese girl studying English ,she has a smile that makes you happy.The house has 37 rooms,and its enormous .We looked in the family room , as big as a village hall with a bookcase that filled one wall.Our departure was like our arrival ,very friendly .We left as friends, and that says it all.

Room Tip: There are three rooms,The Appleton room has a shower,the other two have baths .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#2 of 15 in Beverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Property: Newbegin House
Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing