We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, fantastic staff, great hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, fantastic staff, great hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed here with my partner as we were attending a friends wedding. Location is excellent being right in the market square of Beverley, with easy access to all the local amenities. Room was spacious and very clean. Bottled water and ear plugs(Not required) were a nice touch. Although it was a Saturday evening noise wasnt too bad, it wasn't an issue for us anyway. Bed very comfortable and breakfast in the morning was excellent, very friendly and helpful staff. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AClarkGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    156
    44
    28
    18
See reviews for
76
249
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

The Hotel is in a corner of Saturday Market Square in the centre of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, although the tiling in the bathroom could have been cleaner. The in room drink making facilities were only sufficient for two cups of coffee, which seemed somewhat parsimonious! Breakfast was a disappointment. There was little choice, with the focus on the traditional English breakfast. No mention of vegitarian options. Very limited choice of fruit, yogurts and juices etc. The cavernous nature of the bar area was not that conducive to a quiet relaxing drink. Would recommend the nearby Dog and Duck Inn for a good pint in a traditional pub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinervaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights last week after reading the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We got a bargain room rate and had a double room at the back of the hotel. I like to stay in relaxed,unpretentious places and this fitted the bill exactly. I cannot recommend the staff and the management of the place more highly. They were friendly and anything we wanted to know they were only too pleased to help us out. We were not disturbed by any noise coming from the pub or outside at night and perhaps this was due to our room at the back or the fact we stayed midweek. Our room was beautifully decorated with a very good shower and a comfortable bed. I have rated the hotel as very good rather than excellent only because we prefer home cooking and this being a hotel chain the food was their standard bar fare. Having said that it was extremely well cooked but we would have paid more for the option of eating home cooked food. The breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice. The hotel is located right in the centre of Beverley and handy for all amenties and exploring the area. All in I would say this was one of the best places we have stayed in and would definitely go again. A lot more expensive hotels could learn a thing or two from this place on how to run their establishments. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great little Town Centre Hotel with unbeatable service (great smiles and welcomes), excellent accomodation, fresh wholesome food and a fine Marston's Pedigree. Choice of music in the bar could not be better. I stayed mid-week for two nightsand I can honestly say that noise was not an issue. There was a note in the room about beer deliveries in the morning....I hardly heard a sound! Well done everyone! See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugechurbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Party: 2 adults, 1 x 3yr old, 1 x infant

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. (Fri/sat) night. We were very apprehensive after reading the reviews about the noise problem as we were staying with young children. Before our stay we phoned the hotel and requested a room at the back of the hotel which was no problem to the staff. The staff do not try to hide the noise problem to potential guests, we found that they were very honest but will go out of their way to help you.

Staff are exceptional. For a small hotel they cannot do enough to help.

Food is great. Served quickly and efficiently.

Room was good and clean. Travel cot in room for baby as requested. You need to take you own sheets for it.

The noise is a problem however it did not disturb our kids. The bar downstairs gets very busy. On the Fri night we watched TV until midnight (when the music was meant to stop). Unfortunately the music seemed to go by midnight. Ear plugs are left in the room for guests.

Sat night is a 1am licence however we were at a family party so this did not effect us.

Very central location. Market on Sat is good. Local shops also worth a visit.

I would, without doubt, stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the holel, so know all about the noise problem, but the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel far outway the little glitch.
If you book early enough ask for one of the rooms at the back, where you dont here the Market Traders or the Council cleaning the streets.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just returned from a one night trip to Beverley. Totally agree with the comments about the bass beat, it is loud and hard to ignore. However, it was the only "blip" on an otherwise great stay in a lovely clean and central hotel. And we were warned about the noise beforehand, so it wasn't entirely a surprise. Also, 10 years ago, I'd have been downstairs with them, so can't complain too much!
The hotel/pub was clean, smart, good location, great breakfast with pleasant staff. And a very comfy bed.
What more do you want?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 16 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 38 Saturday Market, Beverley HU17 9AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 12 en-suite rooms is individually decorated to a high standard and offers flatscreen digital TVs, luxurious bedding, tea and coffee making facilities and free wi-fi for guests. The hotel is ideally situated on the High Street in the centre of the market town of Beverley in the heart of Yorkshire. The town offers the attractions of Beverley Minster and Racecourse and is a good base for day trips to Hull, Bridlington, Scarborough and York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing