We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try this place”
Review of London Bar - CLOSED

London Bar
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern town centre restaurant and bar. Lovely freshly made meals, premium drinks, world beers, beautiful wines and gorgeous cocktails.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We turned up on Saturday night without a reservation and luckily for us there was a table free. Everything was good - an interesting menu, the food was beautifully cooked, with great flavours that worked well together. And you can get some good wine if you want it. A lively, but not hectic, atmosphere. All in all, a bit of a find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SandS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 153 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited this wine bar/restaurant for the first time with our family of two teenage children. Having booked in advance on a weekday evening, the place wasn't too busy which meant our food was served quickly. The décor is modern and contemporary and there was a nice atmosphere. We were met at the bar by a really pleasant bartender who set up a tab and pointed us to our seat. Our very sociable waitress was fairly knowledgeable about the menu, advising us the portion size to be huge. However, by our measure the meals were of an average portion size but since we all had starters, we didn't need the portion to be any bigger! Great tasting food, cooked fresh, served piping hot and all arrived at the same time, nothing left on our plates. Our only grumble is that the coffee should have been hot and served with a bowl sugar, so we could have chosen if and how much we would like to take. We were offered sugar as an 'afterthought' by the waitress, which we all accepted, but sadly never received! The whole meal including drinks came to just a little over £100. The price of the meals are at the top end but reflect this type of eatery, the drinks being a little on the pricey side, especially when you are dining with older children. We had a really lovely evening will definitely visit again, looking forward to receiving sugar and a jug of cream with our coffee next time!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank manicmable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went there while on vacation and loved the food. Service was also brilliant. Very kind and sincere. Recommend trying if you are anywhere in the area.
-justin

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jarcelaschi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonBar, Manager at London Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We really appreciate you giving us your comments when over here from the USA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Went here whilst on a short break. 8 adults and 1 child for a birthday celebration. Staff were excellent and so helpful. Even gave us good advice as to where to visit in the local area. The service was very good, and very good advice on the meals they were serving. All meals were really good and I would definitely go back should I find myself in that part of the country again. Very nice relaxed atmosphere too. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonBar, Manager at London Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

It was lovely to meet you all - pleased we helped to make your visit to the area a pleasant one. Thanks for getting in touch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

On Friday evening I had a meal with friends at the london bar. The staff were polite and efficient. The food was excellent. It's not the cheapest place in driffield, but it does good food at a good price. I would even go so far as to say the meal I had was the best restaurant meal I have had in a long time I just wish I had had enough room to squeeze in a desert as I think it to would have been good.
The food tasted home made and the potato wedges were crunchy on the outside but soft in middle.
I would defiantly go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonBar, Manager at London Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for an amazing review. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Bar also viewed

Brandesburton, Driffield
Sledmere, Driffield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing