We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed, will come back...”
Review of The Dacre Arms

The Dacre Arms
Ranked #8 of 77 Restaurants in Driffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very impressed, will come back...”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the dacre arms after a recommendation from a friend and were very impressed. The dacre arms is well presented inside and has a good selection of pub food, with large portions at reasonable prices. We had gammon and the belly pork and couldn't fault either. When we visit again we will try the Yorkshire puddings which looked huge as they went to the next table.

The only reason I haven't given this a 5 was the difficulty getting to the bar. The pub was busy with a large contingent sat around the bar area which made it difficult to order drinks and food. It maybe an idea to have table service for food in this situation in the future.

Overall a good experience though and will certainly go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kezabelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review! Great to hear you visited us after a recommendation and that you enjoyed your meal! Apologies that you had some difficulty getting to the bar..it does get a little crowded at the weekends..thank you for your suggestion. Table service is something that we have introduced at weekends quite recently to help when it is busy! Hope to see you again soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    80
    28
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandesburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value good food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food at a good price, service was good and we didn't have to wait long. Really friendly atmosphere, a little confusion over our order but it was soon rectified, would visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Dacre.. great to hear you enjoyed your food! Apologies for any confusion with your order..hopefully everything turned out okay in the end! Hope to see you soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Good Time to Eat at The Dacre”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been going to The Dacre for years to eat and experienced food of variable quality over the time.

Our last visit last week the food was excellent, we had the fish, curry, burger and large Yorkshire pudding. The portions are generous and served hot. They represent excellent value for money. The service at The Dacre has always been first rate and our last visit was no exception.

The choice of food on the menu is more limited than it was previously and this is maybe the reason why the quality has improved. If this improvement is sustained it will return to our first choice for a meal out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank besidetheseasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit! Great to hear you all enjoyed your food! We have reduced our menu slightly...exactly as you put it, to ensure our food is at its best quality! Our menu does change seasonally, so look our for new additions! Hope to see you soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent. Well worth a vist for a great meal.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great meal here at the weekend, it was quite busy but that was okay as there have real beer on tap! makes the wait for food hugely enjoyable. You get big sized portions and its good fresh cooked food. The menu is typical pub grub, but when is well cooked well I am happy with that. Good choice of dessert too, if you can manage one! I recommend the Dacre Arms highly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeJay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit..great to hear that you enjoyed our home cooked food! Thank you for the recommendation! Hope to see you again soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARLINGTON
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Visited Dacre Arms on 20th May Superb as always huge portions of excellent food and great service highly recomended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISTOPHER529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
What a lovely review...thank you for the recommendation! Really pleased you enjoyed your meal at The Dacre! Hope to see you again soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dacre Arms also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brandesburton, Driffield
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dacre Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing