We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Good Food”
Review of The Dacre Arms

The Dacre Arms
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in Driffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We arrived on a Tuesday lunch time and the pub was busy. The only problem was there was only 1 member of staff on duty so it was quite slow to get served. The upside was the person was very friendly and apologised for the delay.

The overall experience of this visit was very good the food was excellent and we will be visiting again. My wife chose the smaller portion of home-made pie we were surprised at the size of the portion a lot bigger than we thought it would be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the pub! Great to hear that you enjoyed your food! Many apologies for the delay, with our staff shortage on the day! See you again soon!
Victoria - The Dacre Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ate here with the family for mother's day. This was my first visit to this pub, so i had no idea what to expect. The decor is simple, country pub style, nothing flash. The service throughout was very friendly and professional and the food was amazing. My brother had the giant yorkshire pudding filled with turkey... And it was the biggest yorkshire pud i've ever seen. My choice was the roast beef sunday lunch, which again was huge and very tasty. Service throughout was unfaltering, which always makes the difference. Well done for making mother's day great.

Thank Stevestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

What a lovely review...wonderful to hear that we made your Mothers Day great! We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your food and our service...our Yorkshire puddings are certainly a popular choice! Hope to see you again soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This place is popular lots of locals and there was a special Greek menu as well as your usual pub food. The space is flexible and the restaurant can be quiter if the bar side is busy

Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for your recent review... we do have a special night every Friday, which changes every week! See you again soon!
Victoria - The Dacre Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A warm welcome and some simple but good food.try the lite bites they were enough for my appetite the steak pie was great value,have been here a few times now and never been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrianL250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi Brian..thank you for your recent review! Its great to hear that you enjoy our selection of light bites...they certainly are a good sized portion! Hope to see you again soon!
Victoria - The Dacre Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Simply the best Sunday lunch we have had for a long time. Loads of veggies - five types, all cooked nicely, not over cooked, lovely melt in your mouth meat, home-made Yorkshire puds, great value. I've now had Sunday lunch here three times and it is always the same - really good, DELICIOUS in fact.

The only down side? I have had the misfortune due to being late and no choice on which table to sit at, to sit next to the same family twice. Their kids are noisy, throw food around, completely disruptive to a peaceful Sunday lunch dining experience. The mess around their table when they had finished was simply appalling, I felt really sorry for the staff who did their best in a very short time to clean it up before the next diners could be seated. Someone should have a word.... if children aren't old enough or disciplined enough to dine in a civilized manner they should be kept at home until they are. No wonder on both occasions the only table left was next to them! The locals know!

There is a sign on the door "well behaved children are welcome" or words to that effect, someone needs to enforce that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Public Relations Manager at The Dacre Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit for Sunday lunch! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your food. Many apologies that your meal was a little disrupted by the family on the next table! Our staff have been notified to encourage families to ensure their childrens behaviour does not affect other diners. We do encourage guests to book if possible...and if you can request a table in a quieter area, hopefully this wont happen again! Hope to see you again soon!

Victoria - The Dacre Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dacre Arms also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brandesburton, Driffield
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dacre Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing