We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Vist looking forward to No 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
A TripAdvisor Member
“3rd Vist looking forward to No 4”
Reviewed February 20, 2006

I have just returned from yet another weekend away at the Bell. I found the hotel 3 years ago and have returned for a least one weekend a year since then.
I could not emphasise enough the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. The swimming pool, and steam room are great, I always look at the gym, but have never tried it. Each time we book we are asked for the previous room number, so that we can be allocated a different room on each visit. My favourite so far is room 9. There is a a large carved eagle above the bed, and I can honestly say I have never seen a bed so big. For our next visit we have been promised the honeymoon suite at no extra charnge. My husband likes to sample the 300 whiskeys they have on offer at the bar. The ownders George and Rita keep a herd of deer at there home, and if you ask they may let you take a look. They gave us the key to their land and a large bowl of bread rolls to make sure the deer came to the fence. I could go on further, but to sum up, if you want to switch off and relax for a couple of days you will not find a better place to do it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    79
    34
    29
    25
See reviews for
32
103
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We were up in Driffield for a wedding and did not know quite what to expect. We are Londoners and liking our comforts and standards and we loved it! The hotel is like a tardis with lots of hidden corners to explore. Loved the wonderful spa is which was an unexpected modern indulgence. There are real state of the art treatments that have been tastefully integrated into an old building and a spacious and light gym. Lots of antiques around the hotel and old seascapes on the walls to find too.

All the staff were very welcoming - lots of Yorkshire hospitality. Loved the local food too which was traditional and very filling. Cannot commment on the breakfast but highly recommend the sunday lunch as a great hangover cure! If you are looking for somewhere that is individual, friendly and a bit "oldy-worldy" then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2005

Where can I start? Having read the above review I was somewhat unsure about my weekend break to the Bell Hotel. My experience however, could not have been more different.
The staff were friendly and courtious and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were tastefully furnished and totally in keeping with a beautiful period building such as this. The food was tasty (much of it sourced locally) and served with a smile. I would particularly recommend the duck dishes and the excellent cheese table. For the whisky coinnasseur there is a bar full of tempting treats from North of the Border, many of which I have never seen before. It is worth taking some time to sample the pool, sauna, beauty salon, super spa... the list could go on.
To conclude, an excellent weekend away!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

Oh where to begin, I had this misfortune of being booked into this hotel with a small group of friends for two nights. Heres some points of interest:

1) The staff are rude and unprofessional.
2) The rooms are dingy and dirty, staff reluctant to clean.
3) Food average, service staff really don't want to be there.
4) Fight for a parking space in the cramped car park.
5) Antique furniture ..... Hmmmmmmm.
6) Decor.. if you like pink curtains mixed with orange light fittings and Pat Butcher wall paper then its for you.
7) Continuous musty smell of cooking.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this has to fall bottom. Don't even think of going here!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Driffield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
532 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#5 of 17 in Driffield
75 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield

Property: BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing