We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My mum was born and raised in Driffield but now in her 80s lives in Linconshire so we thought it would be nice to take her back to her roots , she had never been. To the Bell in her young day it would have far to posh and expensive, so we booked in for a there course lunch , it was lovely what made it special for my mum a Yorkshire Lass ! Was the starter , a Yorkshire pudding with onion gravy it took her back to her child hood, the whole meal staff the restaurant was outstanding well worth a vist, I couldn't praise you all enough .Thank you such a brilliant place and it made our day really special .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 285 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I personally didn't stay at the hotel, but I was a guest there for the evening and the following day at my friends wedding party.
For the Saturday evening there were quite a large amount of people attending the function, I would hazard a guess at 100 people (at least) were seated for food and were all fed in quick succession with food of quite a decent quality. The staff coped well with the amount of guests attending the party, also catering for general hotel guests and casual saturday day/night visitors. One or two members of staff were showing signs of pressure, but it was to be expected.
The event ran very smoothly, the catering staff were not hesitant in solving any issues or re-stocking the wine on the tables. Also they were very efficient at clearing the tables away to make room for the dance-floor!
The following day people came back to the hotel for a group lunch, there must have been 35/40 of us, we were all seated close together in the restaurant, served very tasty food with speed, the food was flavoursome, hot, plentiful and we were served pretty much at the same time. Only downfall was there were two evidently large parties in there at the same time and it got very loud and quite warm...
The only general fall-back's of the hotel was the incredibly inadequate car parking for the amount of guests staying, and the lack of consistent seating areas outside.
Apart from those minor points, the hotel was wonderfully clean, well presented, interesting to look round and staff coped very well. I am very tempted to come back to have a personal stay and use the spa facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Bell Hotel at Driffield is now a Best Western establishment and usually I avoid these places like the plague as the food is generally average, and the beer poor. Not so at The Bell on a recent visit. I got a really good deal for £80.00 - a double room on a B&B basis, plus a choice of main courses from the bar menu, use of the spa and gym, plus entry to the adjacent Town Hall to see the excellent Edwina Hayes and guests in concert, recorded live by the mobile Abbey Road Recording Studios. The Bell has several good hand-pumps with beers from mainly local breweries, and an excellent choice of at least 200 whiskies - maybe more. Our bar meal was good, wine reasonably priced, concert excellent, and the room very very good and of a 'traditional style' - i.e. no mod cons which suit me fine. The only down side of this hotel is the limited parking - if you can get in it is very tight indeed, but there is plenty of other parking nearby. We shall return!

Room Tip: all rooms appear fine to me, ours was one of those split level affairs. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mr Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed overnight as part of a concert package in the "Town Hall" and as such was amazing value for money. The Hotel itself is somewhat typical of its genre and age, meandering corridors and layout, creaking floor boards, and you can overhear the neighbouring rooms but this is more than made up by the very friendly, courteous and helpful staff who are a credit to the Manageress, this coupled with a very good breakfast made it a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

An excellent Hotel with very well appointed rooms; free access to swimming pool, Sauna, steam-
room and gymnasium for guests. The Hotel has a very good restaurant as well as offering bar
meals, but the top prize must go to the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the swimming-pool, then you can just walk down in the bathing robe provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 444dissapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,353 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
11.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Bell In Driffield

Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range: $72 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing