We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel coped well in height of wedding season” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hotel coped well in height of wedding season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I personally didn't stay at the hotel, but I was a guest there for the evening and the following day at my friends wedding party.
For the Saturday evening there were quite a large amount of people attending the function, I would hazard a guess at 100 people (at least) were seated for food and were all fed in quick succession with food of quite a decent quality. The staff coped well with the amount of guests attending the party, also catering for general hotel guests and casual saturday day/night visitors. One or two members of staff were showing signs of pressure, but it was to be expected.
The event ran very smoothly, the catering staff were not hesitant in solving any issues or re-stocking the wine on the tables. Also they were very efficient at clearing the tables away to make room for the dance-floor!
The following day people came back to the hotel for a group lunch, there must have been 35/40 of us, we were all seated close together in the restaurant, served very tasty food with speed, the food was flavoursome, hot, plentiful and we were served pretty much at the same time. Only downfall was there were two evidently large parties in there at the same time and it got very loud and quite warm...
The only general fall-back's of the hotel was the incredibly inadequate car parking for the amount of guests staying, and the lack of consistent seating areas outside.
Apart from those minor points, the hotel was wonderfully clean, well presented, interesting to look round and staff coped very well. I am very tempted to come back to have a personal stay and use the spa facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    78
    32
    28
    24
See reviews for
32
102
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Bell Hotel at Driffield is now a Best Western establishment and usually I avoid these places like the plague as the food is generally average, and the beer poor. Not so at The Bell on a recent visit. I got a really good deal for £80.00 - a double room on a B&B basis, plus a choice of main courses from the bar menu, use of the spa and gym, plus entry to the adjacent Town Hall to see the excellent Edwina Hayes and guests in concert, recorded live by the mobile Abbey Road Recording Studios. The Bell has several good hand-pumps with beers from mainly local breweries, and an excellent choice of at least 200 whiskies - maybe more. Our bar meal was good, wine reasonably priced, concert excellent, and the room very very good and of a 'traditional style' - i.e. no mod cons which suit me fine. The only down side of this hotel is the limited parking - if you can get in it is very tight indeed, but there is plenty of other parking nearby. We shall return!

Room Tip: all rooms appear fine to me, ours was one of those split level affairs. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of a concert package in the "Town Hall" and as such was amazing value for money. The Hotel itself is somewhat typical of its genre and age, meandering corridors and layout, creaking floor boards, and you can overhear the neighbouring rooms but this is more than made up by the very friendly, courteous and helpful staff who are a credit to the Manageress, this coupled with a very good breakfast made it a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

An excellent Hotel with very well appointed rooms; free access to swimming pool, Sauna, steam-
room and gymnasium for guests. The Hotel has a very good restaurant as well as offering bar
meals, but the top prize must go to the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the swimming-pool, then you can just walk down in the bathing robe provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here on a cycling trip and it was a really comfortable and welcoming place at the end of a hard day's cycling in mixed weather. To walk into the cheerful bar and see people eating old-fashioned afternoon tea was exactly what we needed.

Our room was very comfortable, pleasantly decorated and lit and well equipped and we had a great night's sleep on a comfortable bed (our ageing bodies are sensitive to beds). The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful.

The hotel has a real feel of the past. Not some imaginary mediaeval or Victorian past but the 1950s. It's the sort of place where you might have stopped for the night on a motor tour in your Humber Super Snipe (if you could afford such things).

The owners, George & Rita Riggs, have put a lot of individual and humorous touches into the refurbishment of this old inn. George agreed that the 'sunken bath' in our room was not his best idea and he wouldn't try it again (standard enamelled steel bath but at floor level so you need to be a gymnast or have a mechanical hoist available to get out) but having the words and music of a well-known patriotic song in tiles around the walls of the Gent's toilets was sheer genius and one really hopes that the local Rotarians can be heard singing away while taking their ease.

Lots of other small touches to capture your interest and the Bell seems to be very popular for both afternoon tea and morning coffee with a large coffee shop alongside the comfortable lounge bar.

Only downside was that the food didn't match up to the rest of the experience. It was a quiet night so maybe the head chef wasn't on duty but neither our evening meal nor our breakfast really pleased us, for example poached eggs cooked with vinegar and served onto unbuttered toast with enough of the poaching water to make the toast soggy. Other reviewers have been very happy with the food.

But despite the food, it was a real pleasure to be there and you couldn't ask for a more welcoming and comfortable hotel

Room Tip: Unless you are very agile and a devotee of unusual pointless experiences, ask for a room with a norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenleagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
11.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#5 of 17 in Driffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#2 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield

Property: BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing