We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faded grandure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“faded grandure”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We called into this hotel for lunch. On entering you are confronted by a warren of rooms ,with walls covered in antique prints and photographs a fantastic art gallery. We found seats in a room that appeared to have original Morris wall paper and then ordered our lunch from a buffet salad bar. My wife chose a baked potato and the waitress made up a filling from the cold salad bar placing it in a luke warm baked potato. I ordered the steak pie with roast potatoes ,which came on a piping hot plate with delicious meaty gravy. The curates egg !!! We finished with a pot of tea made to our specification..excellent. The hotel would appear to be up for sale and who ever buys it will need to spend heavily but should be careful not to spoil an old coaching inn with character.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    83
    35
    30
    26
See reviews for
33
107
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I renewed our wedding vows at this grand hotel. From start to finish everything went smoothly friendly and nothing was too much trouble at all. We stayed here for 2 nights with breakfast and all the staff took the pressure off us getting everything ready. There is a spa and some beauty treatments that is very inviting. This hotel I would recommend to anyone for over night stays conferences and any function you could think of.

Room Tip: There are no tips for good rooms. Everyone is as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My parents renewed there wedding vows on Saturday, the party was held in the old town hall at the bell hotel. We couldn't of asked for a better place, the food, service and atmosphere was incredible. We have been to the bell a couple of times and love coming back, it's such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penn050309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having had family come up from London they were booked in the The Bell Hotel. On enquiring about their stay they reported that the room was spottless, the food excellent and the service and staff second to none. Well done to all,

Room Tip: our family stayed in room 7 which is a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I have just got back from a couple of very relaxing days at the Driffield Spa and The Bell hotel. All the staff at both places looked after us very well. Especially Annabelle she made our trip very special. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a lovely, old fashioned hotel, with a pool and gym. The room and public areas were very welcoming, the food was very good, and we were very impressed. Until, that is, we went to have a shower. It was one of those inadequate electric things that provides a gentle trickle, not strong enough to wash the shampoo out of my short hair! If we had been staying here for more than one night I would have had to move, but for the one night I managed. It has put me off going here again, which is a shame. Why don't hotel owners in this country understand that people want a good powerful shower. I appreciate this is an old building, and the charm of it comes from quirky old fashioned oddities, but when people are paying for accommodation there is no excuse for bad plumbing. Basically they are doing it on the cheap instead of ensuring the plumbing is up to it. If there is not enough power for a shower then just offer a bath, and make it clear.

Room Tip: If you like a strong shower ask if they have a room with a good shower, (ours didn't)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not particularly conventional, but the Bell is a very friendly hotel with many super ameneties. OK the rooms may be a tad chinzy and not like lots of standardised clones, but we love it. Lovely food, excellent beer and - as I said before - friendly, happy staff ....... which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
12.1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
554 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#10 of 17 in Driffield
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Bell In Driffield

Property: Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing