We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unfortunate incident !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I took my 93 year old mother for afternoon tea
The car park is very small making manoeuvring difficult especially when people don't park in marked bays (as was the case on that particular afternoon)
On leaving the hotel after a lovely afternoon tea, I had to back out of my parking space to help my mother into the car
At this point a woman (who I subsequently discovered was the hotel owner's wife) ran screaming out of the hotel accusing me of hitting her car!!
Her car was badly scratched and marked all round the back of it - My car had no marks on it at all (because I had not run into her car!)
She proceeded to shout angrily at me in front of my mother (who was very upset by this aggressive behaviour)
She shouted at me to 'Leave this car park and never come back!' Needless to say I will not return!!!
What incredibly rude behaviour towards a customer!!
She then took a photo on her phone of me and mystery as we sat in my car!! (I think that could be illegal?)
I would not recommend that hotel to anyone
My emails of concern to Best Western (and to the hotel itself) have been futile!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Joanw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here overnight while we were visiting the Easy Coast. Not wanting to actually stay on the coast, Driffield is close enough to be a base. From start to finish the staff were great, and the food in the evening and at breakfast was excellent - it is so nice to have hot plates with hot food! Although some might call the hotel old fashioned, we preferred to see it as a quaint coaching house, with its nooks, crannies and appropriate furniture and longcase clocks. The bar had several draft beers, and a small collection of whiskies - 300!! (A challenge for most travellers!!) And then there is always the Spa with pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. The rooms had nice little touches, like the ducks in the bathroom. One of the rooms was on split levels with a spiral staircase.
Only two points that you might want to be aware of that I noted. One was that the tightness of the car park, and the second was the fact that one of our group was in a room that had a macerator in the bathroom - which was noisy in operation.

Room Tip: Just check if the bathroom has a macerator if you would be bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for the night after our wedding in the honeymoon suite and we were very much looked after both for our room and for our wedding by Amy. She did a fab job and is a great ambassador to your hotel!

The room was a cosy night's sleep which, after a long long wedding day, is just what you need! The atmosphere and old fashioned make of the hotel wasn't to my liking, but they nonetheless pulled it off relatively well for people who appreciate that kind of thing.

The night porter guy was legendary with a great knowledge on all of the whiskeys available. Was great to sit up a little while longer and chat to him about them and find out more about them. He was generally a decent guy who just added to the little quirks this place holds.

The breakfast was enjoyable, though as a hungover groom I wish I could have appreciated it more! The menu was vast and the service good with pleasant staff about and a good speed at delivering breakfast.

I live in Driffield so for those reasons, I would probably never stay again, but the atmosphere and friendliness reflects our town. If you don't mind the old-fashioned look, then not a problem. :)

Thank you the Bell Hotel (Driff)!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiccoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a superb set of rooms, maybe a little olde world but full of character and exceptionally comfortable. The staff we met were without exception absolutely great and the food was excellent. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went as a family group for my mothers 85th birthday. We had to ask for menus eventually, we then waited an hour and ten minutes for food. One starter was wrong, the staff were polite but totally inexperienced and obviously didnt care, the food was poor but got worse.
The main courses came with cubed turnip, oversized carrots, horribly overcooked mange tout and some new potatoes. Driffield is in the countryside, it was August, where were the FRESH seasonable vegetables. The duck and the lamb were inedible and the chicken and the pork tasted the same.What a disappointing night. The place suffers from complacency, we will NOT be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Only had meal here, excellent sirloin steaks and meal. Evening out with long lost friends, excellent night, good bar area menu and restaraunt menu opted for bar one. Very happy and stuffed afterwards. Will be returning to stay next time . Love old places like this with lots of traditional bits and bobs, very friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This 18th Century "Coaching Inn" is located in the Market Place with a small car park to the rear. The main entrance is via the High Street but if you managed to grab a parking space you can enter the hotel via the car park. However, be prepared! You will have a feeling that you have just walked out of Dr Who's tardis and you will be suddenly stepping back into time....
There is little signage to direct you to the reception desk at the front of the hotel but just keep walking through the hotel breakfast room/bar area, which looks like an antique warehouse with an old red telephone box, a wash stand and dolly, gloomy pictures, dusty ornaments and wall plates just to name a few, until you reach a dark wall panelled area where you feel you need to light a candle to see. In the darkened corner you will make out small "cupboard" which is the reception desk. Check-in here and then be taken to your room up the creaky wood panelled stairs, past grubby antique chairs, old storage pots and more gloomy pictures to a small landing. Our room (number 17) was on this landing but some other rooms are located down a dimly lit corridor with yet more shabby antique chairs and tables and gloomy pictures.
The room was situated at the front of the building overlooking the Market Place and traffic lights, opposite a pub. It prides its self on the 300 malt whiskies and hand pulled cask ales, which we can confirm attracts quite a few noisy patrons leaving the building - immediately below our room. In addition to the traffic lights and street lights immediately outside, there were bright lights illuminating the hotel signage, all these factors were obviously not brilliant for a good restful nights sleep. However, to the room itself, one step up from the landing to room 17 takes you into what can only be decribed in modern terms as the lounge or perhaps in olden terms, the parlour but there was nothing nice about it, believe me. There was a two seater sofa covered in green loose covers which sunk down when sat on, making getting up difficult, an antique writing desk and chair, a dressing table and mirror, a full length mirror, a grotty dimly lit standand lamp, a chest of drawers and yuk! two commodes. Yes that's right, two commodes. Obviously there because of the Edwardian/Victorian theme but quite distastelful in my opinion. There was a red rug on the floor and green curtains with awful net curtains dressing the window.
There was an adjoining room which was down a step (quite quirky really) which housed an extremely high almost 4 poster bed. The bed covering was identical to the wallpaper and it was crass. The actual overhead canopy was poorly covered with button nails and had gaps all round it. The back was not attached properly and it was a mess. The actual bed was so high it was difficult to climb into and this was because there was more than one mattress piled on. The top mattress fell towards the middle and the bed creaked more than the stairs. It was awful but there is more to come.....the radiators and the home-made wardrobe were made out of louvre wood and the styling was certainly out of character to what the owners were trying to achieve, there was a flat screen TV which couldn't be seen from the high bed (why wasn't it in the parlour I wonder?), the usual amenieties tray in the wardrobe and a very heavy hairdryer. A dressing table was in the same styling as the wardrobe, there was an old chair with a wobbly arm, 2 bed-side tables with lamps and a glass topped chest of drawers with a lace doily underneath.
Do read on as there is still more to room 17, the en-suite of course! Well, if you are 5' or under you are ok but anything more means you have to duck before entering the bathroom. They have rolled up a piece of brown carpet and stapled it to the top of the door frame to avoid head bruises on entering, so no worries eh? The next room decorated with yellow wallpaper with blue flowers, houses a bath and a huge basin, distastefully in green. When using the basin the bath gurgles and vis-versa. You like a power shower? Then hard luck, the shower over the bath was the most pathetic shower I have ever experienced, and the water temperature was intermittent and unreliable. Funnily enough there is a sign on the wall asking you to keep the shower curtain (dark green by the way) in the bath to avoid flooding but there is so little water trickling out that there is no way a flood could happen! There is yet another room off the bathroom decorated in the same manner, housing the toilet, yes it's green and it's dark and dingy in there and not a place to linger to do the crossword, believe me. The plumbing and drainage must also be 18th century so don't expect water to drain away or the toilet to flush properly on the first or second attempt.
As you may have realised this was not a good stay and definately not recommended unless you want to experience something completely different.
I feel the owners are not spending money on modernising and updating this once splendid property as they are mistaken that paying guests want to experience something different. Well in my opinion they are wrong.
Don't all guests expect mod cons in 2012, not a grubby dimly lit room with worn out plumbing?
All this for over £100 for one night at room only, a rip off to say the least.
We will not be returning for obvious reasons!

Room Tip: My best tip is don't stay at all but if want to experience what life was like in the 18th centur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheHappyHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
594 reviews
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#11 of 17 in Driffield
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Bell In Driffield

Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing