We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, clean and friendly, great gym and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Old style Hotel in the centre of town, I found the room a little dated and full of antque bits and bobs not realy my cup of tea but pleasant. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. some moderniation would improve things a little. The room and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast were good

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank japtattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Bell In Driffield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and whilst the staff were efficient and friendly the overall decor and furniture was similar to what was around and used in pubs in the seventies.(I know I used to run a hotel/pub) The rooms were furnished in old fashioned odd/not matching dark chunky furniture the style of which my grandparents had when I was a child in the sixties. The bathroom whilst clean was very old fashioned and badly needed updating and decorating. If you like quirky and like old fashioned this is the place for you. The plus side was that the staff were great and the food good and they clearly look after their cellar as the beer was good and they had a great range of whisky.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Bell Hotel in Driffield was a bit of a surprise. We were there for a friends wedding and after reading Tripadvisor we didn't know quite what to expect.
My first encounter was on the phone when I rang to see if I could swop my £120 a night web booking for an £88 per night preferred rate for wedding guests. The lady was really helpful and saved me some pennies.
When we arrived it was to a warm welcome by the lady who took our booking. The booking in was quick and efficient and we were shown to our room.
The hotel is dated but not in a bad way. Think about a sleep over at your great grannies and you are just about there. They have collected a whole heap of old and miss-matched furniture but for some reason its not wrong. The hotel seems to be held together by old fashioned wall paper and bric a brac but it feels warm and welcoming.
The bedroom was large and we had a 4 poster bed. The en suite had a bath, shower, loo and bidet but just like at grannies house, it didn't all work as it should but then again, it wasnt enough to disappoint. Breakfast was again old fashioned and seaside guest house like but there was plenty of it and the large tea pot of tea was a pleasure.
If we were visiting there again, we might stay there but not at the web rate!

Room Tip: Be prepared to take as you find and you will enjoy
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-Dizzy-Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We recently contacted the Bell Hotel to hold our wedding reception there. We arranged an appointment to view the rooms yesterday and discuss our wedding. As we don't live in the area we took a day off work to view the hotel, and drove 50 miles to get there. Unfortunately due to traffic out of our control we were 25-30 minutes late for the appointment but I was told on the phone that anytime after 3pm was fine.
By the time we got to the reception of the hotel we were met to be told that the lady to show us round had gone home. She'd waited maybe 20 minutes and gone home?! We weren't offered any alternative arrangements by the lady that told us this. It was basically 'shes gone home' and that was it. Absolutely appauling.
We'd taken a day off from work and driven all that way for nothing. Obviously can't be bothered and think that they don't need the business! Fair play we were late...but we were told anytime after 3pm.
I think we'll be doing the Bell Hotel a favor by not using them for our reception, after all it would just mean more work for them to do, and as we found out....they just can't be bothered.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Pink_in_ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed at the Bell in Driffield for an overnight stay with work. Here's what you need to know if you are thinking about staying:-

The Pros

1) Great gym and pool on site.
2) Car parking (although a little bit tight).
3) Fab Chinese restaurant across the road.

The Cons

1) Very very fussy decoration. It can only be described as the "anti Ikea" of the hotel world as EVERY surface in our room was coated in flowers or birds. It was like walking into something from my Grandma's fantasy furniture showroom! My colleague is a massive fan of "shabby chic" and "vintage" but it was even too much for her!

2) There are a lot of dead rooms that are made up as French bistros- we didn't see a single person in these rooms and it was all a little bit odd.

3) Whilst most of the staff were pleasant and helpful, at breakfast one of the waitresses made a beeline for 2 gentleman and asked, very loudly, if the rumours that they had shared a bed were true. Not very discreet and not something I would ever wish to witness again.

This hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul and whilst there are some nice elements to it, there are much better alternatives near by. I would have been very disappointed if I had had to pay the £110 bill myself. I won't be staying at the Bell again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This place is seriously in need of some TLC outside of the main areas on the ground floor. Overpriced and not worth it. Better places outside the town. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhardyNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I had my wedding reception here. The food was fantastic but the communication I got from a certain member of staff responsible for the wedding side was a discrace. I found out 2 weeks before children under 16's cannot stay in the hotel.....I was not told this, i found out when my sister tried to book in with her kids. This was quite a bit issue as our own son could not stay with us! I was made to feel I was inconveniencing her with every request. My table centre-pieces have all 'dissapeared' too!
The spa was great and the staff there are lovely. Beware of the car park!!
I reccommend putting your foot down from day one if you are booking your wedding here and make sure promises and costs are written down at your first meeting.
Actually just ask for Amy and you should be fine.....

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bextress83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
233 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#9 of 17 in Driffield
92 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#17 of 17 in Driffield
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Bell In Driffield

Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing