We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Quintin Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Driffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I were in East Yorkshire for a funeral of an old family friend. We live some 200 miles away and looked for somewhere to stay the night. We found the St Quintin Arms website, obtained the telephone number and rang for a booking. A cheerful welcome on the 'phone and a very easy booking was the result.

On arrival, the lady of the house broke off from taking her young daughter out in her car and saw us into the St Quintin and to our room. It was delighful: spacious, cleanly and tastefully decorated and beautiful bed linen to match. We made ourselves some tea, rested after our journey,and went off to the bar and there we met the landlord, who discussed and described his beers, offered a choice of wines that were reasonably priced and well chosen, and chatted while we looked through the also reasonably priced menu and specials board. He is a sheep farmer as well as a landlord so we chose the lamb rump for one and the lamb burger for the other main, with soup and black pudding filled mushrooms in crispy batter to start. All excellent choices and the vegetable bowl and the chips were good accompaniments. Everything was piping hot. When we made our usual noises about not needing puddings we excused ourselves by saying if they were as good as what had gone before it would be a shame to miss out so Jane had ice cream and I had home made apple and summer fruit crumble with custard (and ice cream).

Afterwards we sat in the bar and the local people were most welcoming, the landlord's father even coming over to our table to shake hands. He and his son are of a local farming dynasty going back 100 years. When I said that farming and running a demanding business like an inn was asking a lot of oneself, the landlord said how much he loved both occupations, even in the lambing season when he might get little sleep, and his wife (who now has a chef to work with her in the kitchen) paid tribute to the wonderful team they have put together.

We slept soundly and undisturbed and had a delightful breakfast prepared by the landlady.

In so much of this life that has been taken over by large companies who almost strive to miss out the personal touch it was delightful to find such warmth and welcome. Ian and Zoe Burdass didn't want their village pub to close so they bought it and a splendid job they are doing, As a friend of mine says: you cannot beat an owner driver at running a pub or hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel so there are not so many rooms to choose from. Ours was a mini suite (or family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCHOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

we booked for a meal and was really suprised by the welcome we recieved on arrival, The menu & speicial board had something for all ,The service was friendly and helpful,Our food was cooked from fresh and would recomend it to everyone . The cask ales were great too. We have booked for another visit In 3 weeks 10 out 10 neil thomas leeds

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I chose to have my 62nd birthday celebrations at St Quintin having eaten here before. There were 7 friends and family from 24 to 89 years. We had a great night - lovely service, delicious food and welcoming ambiance. My steak from local celebrated butchers, Glaves, was perfect in every way. Our only very minor issue was the wood-burning stove gave off so much heat some of the party were slightly charred! Everyone enjoyed the evening and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nafferton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

No doubt in our mind, the very best B & B, Pub in all of Merry Ole England! We will be over the pond soon for another exciting visit!

Cheers,
Wyoming, USA

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Local farming family Zoe and Ian Burdass took over this pub at the beginning of September 2011. Using their encyclopaedic knowledge of the local community and Zoe's catering background they did what most people would run a mile from, they bought a pub! And, if they continue as they started they will make a success of it. The pub has three good quality cask beers on the bar and a comprehensive menu. The accommodation is clean and comfortable.

Although easy enough to get to, the village of Harpham is on the road to nowhere, maybe half a dozen vehicles an hour drive past the front door - so the peace and quiet is definately the order of the day. This place is an ideal base for walkers and cyclists.

This is the place to go if you want somewhere comfortable away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a great Inn to stay at. Brand new bedrooms and spotless en suites. The evening meal was really good quality. The desserts are to die for. The breakfast was excellent too. Do not look any further for somewhere to stay near Burton Agnes Hall, Bridlington or Driffield. £32.50 per head a night B&B. With this quality, t is an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlDantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned from a family weekend from the St Quintin Arms.We stayed in the family room which was spotlessly clean,very spacious with tasteful decor. The kingsize bed is a whopper with modern bathroom en suite facilities.
The pub itself is worth calling into even if your'e not staying as it has a welcome atmosphere and delightful beer garden with friendly staff.
We ate our evening meal in the pub and the fillet steak was the best we ever have tasted and cooked to perfection.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
4.9 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
4.9 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
96 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#24 of 117 in Bridlington
226 reviews
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Star Inn
#1 of 1 in Nafferton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Quintin Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Quintin Arms Inn

Address: Main Street | Harpham, Driffield YO25 4QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Driffield
Price Range: $119 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Quintin Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St Quintin Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Quintin Arms Inn Driffield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing