We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, beautifully kept stately home.”
Review of Sledmere House

Sledmere House
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Driffield
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, beautifully kept stately home.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We didn't actually visit this place for the museum, café or any other features, but attended a wedding of a couple who my wife knows.

The venue was well run with great space for the guests. The newly weds had a quartet band playing to lead them in in the upstairs hall which was lovely (though maybe not a feature of the museum!)

The food was great, though the main course of steak was a mixture of rare steak to rare-medium which isn't everybodies liking. The waiting staff were very helpful and generally very pleasant. The guests had a marquee set up for us to go to after the dinner which was testament to how well they looked after the house - drunken guests in a beautiful place as this would probably not be a great idea! There were also plenty of lovely views of and from the house as well as the well kept gardens.

If there was ever a wedding that we were invited to again at this house, we would be very excited to return. We just wouldn't order the steak!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TiccoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    64
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice country house”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very nice and peaceful. Could do with a bit more for kids to do though.

Helpful?
Thank mat040372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most interesting both within, and without!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived around 10.20 and departed around 16.20 - well worth a visit to my mind. The related memorials on the roadside are very interesting to study, and the more you study, the more you want to know. We spent some time in the Wagoners museum (free to visit) before entering the attraction proper; the Wagoners being a volunteer corps of 1,000 local farmworkers who used horse drawn wagons taking supplies to the trenches in WW1. We lunched at the cafe. Visiting on a Sunday we had the opportunity of hearing the organ being played. Do look up to the ceilings and friezes in the house and take in some of the more unusual decoration; also found on other furniture. It's a very much still lived in home. In fact on the day we visited, whilst studying a bedroom, one of the guests staying overnight needed to access his wardrobe, hopping over the ropes keeping we visitors at bay. A bathroom was still steamy from earlier use. The dining room smelled of recent breakfast - It makes the viewing of a grand house so much more relevant and interesting knowing it is not just a museum. There were also photographs and sculptures of the living family members. The private chapel was beautifully decorated, and it was lovely to see modern images within the stained glass windows; I recall an image of a television set with the wording 'BBC 6 O'clock News' incorporated - Lovely! We also took a most interesting 45 minute tour of the deer parks on a trailer, towed by a tractor. This isn't a regular feature, we just happened to be there the day the opportunity was available. There is a playpark, but we did not view this, so I am unable to comment on it. I loved the house and grounds, and the village. It is just such a shame that life has moved on so much that the marvellous agricultural buildings opposite the house appear in the main deserted, redundant, and in disrepair. However this could not spoil, what for us was, a great day out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful house and gardens with lovely views”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a beautiful small country house with very well kept and well kept gardens. The cafe sells a varied array of delicious cakes and food at reasonable prices. Everyone is very friendly and a walk through the colourful gardens is a must.

Helpful?
Thank redriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Brillaint day trip out. Lovely house, gardens and village. The whole village and the local pub the Triton is all great. Its well worth a visit esp in summer en route to the coast or market towns like Driffield.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sledmere House also viewed

Burton Agnes, Driffield
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sledmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing