We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monroe's Restaurant - CLOSED

Monroe's Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a realy good three course meal, excellent choice of food, good sized portions and great veg. I would go again, and hope to sample Buffers famous tea time fayre.
Thanks for a lovely evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    3
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mothers Day Messed Up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

As a family of 6 we went to Buffers restaurant for an evening meal before Mothers Day. The level of service is very poor, the food barely edible and the decor itself leaves much to be desired. Fortunately it was a Groupon deal (much like KGB deals) so full price not paid and would NEVER return!!! Sausages on the mixed grill were 'off' they smelt awful, we were told it was just herbs!!!! Not an apology was insite.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor D, Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments let me please say there was an apology about the sausages, these were not off they were herb sausages and you were offered some breakfast sausages instead which you declined! We have spent a lot of money in the Restaurant in decor and you cant please everybody people have different taste in decor .I also believe you were unhappy to start with when shown to your table as you asked to be moved ,and as you could have seen by us being so busy that we could not sit you at another table, As for the food being barely edible you all seemed to pick the most expensive ( hence being a KGB deal) and you all seemed to eat most of what was on your plate. We remember you very well and the waitress tried to please you but without any success .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food - Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Sunday lunch: Very polite staff and knowledgeable about the food and selection of very reasonably priced drinks. Gentle background music, clean decor and table linen with fresh flowers on each table. Good quality food, plentiful and served with additional gravy boat and fresh pot of mustard. We will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chosen-Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tick's all the right boxes"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Been to Buffers before for food, or maybe just called in the bar for drinks.
Small welcoming bar, for a few drinks first, at really good prices
Table laid out in the restaurant for our grandson's 18th birthday treat.
You can imagine with an assortment of ages and taste, it wasn't going to be just easy choices.
No problem - some started off with starters i.e. garlic mushrooms, prawn cocktails, soup of the day, chicken wings.
Main courses - we decided to have steaks, some had vegetarian, and the kids with us had their choices. Drinks were plentiful, and if you chose the steak deal, you got a bottle of wine between two - this was included in the price. The desserts were to die for.
Although it was a quieter night for the Buffers, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The youngsters carried on celebrating in the town, while we enjoyed a brandy and coffee in the Buffers bar. It ticks all the right boxes for us.
1. Do not need to drive there, very handy for us - although there are taxis available outside.
2. Good menu choice at affordable prices.
3. Lots of specials on offer - did notice the next day was really booked up.
4. Management and staff are very helpful and you don't wait long between courses.
5 You are always guaranteed a warm welcome - thank you!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyprusOnourjollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We booked for afternoon tea with KGB this is our second visit to Buffers and on both occassions we had excellent service, the staff where very friendly and helpfull there was plenty to eat and a good selection. very good value for money well worth the visit i would recommend Buffers to anyone.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe's Restaurant also viewed

Sledmere, Driffield
Brandesburton, Driffield
 
Wold Newton, Driffield
 
Fridaythorpe, Driffield
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing