We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the roaring Red lion”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #12 of 17 Driffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Red lion Driffield
check in by Jo very pleasant showed us to our room which was clean tidy and comfortable we had a stroll round Driffield plenty of little shops couple of banks pubs all over the place and places to eat. We chose the red lion and glad my wife and I did. food was fantastic sirloin steak salad chips tomato mushrooms all big portions and cooked to perfection 3 pints of Stella two soft drinks £30:00 what a bargain all served by Katie a very polite and friendly
Sleep very comfy bed nice warm room entertainment on in the lounge no noise even though we was above the room. The upstairs is currently getting a face lift the building is old and very quirky but nice
Breakfast we thought we would miss breakfast as web site says served form 9am but Jo informed us service was from 7am which was a bonus as we had to be at a christening at 9am breakfast was huge cooked by a lovely lady chef who also served us you can order it the night before and state what time you want it .we both ordered a full breakfast and it had everything so much we could not eat it all .and did not what ant thing to eat for a good while .over all a nice weekend friendly staff and a nice mix of people who use the pub we will be back next year for the wedding

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Allenbarbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked a room at this pub/hotel through Hotels.com. I was going to spend the day with my family so I thought as a matter of courtesy I would call in at the hotel in the morning and warn them that I would be late checking in. I knocked at the front door for about ten minutes then walked round the back. The back door was open, the bar was unattended with glasses from the previous night still on tables. There was a general smell of frying and stale beer. I could have stolen anything I liked. I shouted and got no reply. I found a door marked 'Private' and after hammering for ten mintues I finally managed to get a young woman to come down. She said very aggressively, we don't open until 3 pm. it is on the website. I tried to explain that I was not trying to check in, just to let them know I would be late. She was very rude, told me she wasn't feeling well and couldn't do anything for me. I finally got her to call somebody else from up another staircase and I asked the second woman to make a note of my visit. She said she was just the cleaner. I decided that I could not stay at such a badly-run hotel, and asked her to cancel my booking. She said my fee (I had paid in full) could only be returned via my debit card, which I accepted. That was in August and I have still not had it back. Hotels.com keeps telling me they will respond in 72 hours and that they cannot contact the hotel. Apparently, they have never heard of letters and stamps. I stayed with a family member and whilst the room fee was quite small I feel the management of the hotel and the booking agent should have responded in a timely way to my complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monacoEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you are shopping on a Saturday Morning in Driffield, just walk a little way out of town, you won't be disapointed.
Huge breakfasts are served until noon, then they become part of the lunch menu, they consist of good quality ingreedients and the atmosphere is much more pleasant than the chain pub down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Two of us needed to crash out and get cleaned up and have a meal after a long day, and this was the only b and b with vacancies. The lady who checked us in was great,( a potential manager in the making) but the landlord has very little inter personal skills, so please beware all would be guests, he must have had a bad day,however everyone we met elsewhere was very nice. It was only £32.50 a night, the rooms were clean, and fit for purpose, albiet have been refurbished on a tight budget!!!. The noise from the bar will irritate you until early hours if you intend to have an early night, and the walls are paper thin, read into this what you may!!. Advice here is to pack ear plugs. The breakfast in the morning is huge, and great quality, but it need not be this large, im sure it puts people off, but again some may want it like this. Best attritribute of this hotel is that its only 100 metres away from Wetherspoons, where theres great food at great prices.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the church next door, ding dong all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andi4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion recently and attended a 60th birthday party. The entertainment was marvellous. We stayed in the bar most of the night and found the bar staff very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Aty a charge of £30 for the nigt including breakfast you cannot expect a great deal! Travelling on my own I am not too fussy and it was a cheap stay. However if I was on a leisure break or with my wife i would not choose this place.

The shower did not work so I took a bath instead. It was one of those showers that was impossible to control the temperature, and flowed at a dribble. A loose toilet seat must have been obvious and is not difficult to fix.

Noise from the bar is to be expected, and the church is quite obvious!

I dont think the landlord is very interested in customer satisfaction, the lady who checked me in was very pleasant and helpful.

Booking your breakfast the night before is not to everyone's taste, and it was the worst cup of tea I have ever had.

But it ws only £30............

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently stayed over at the red lion whilst working away and I was dissapointed.lovely rooms great bar with plenty of selection,the food wasn't bad atall and was very well priced (the breakfast is unbelievable).the owners are a great couple and make you feel very welcome. However the breakfast one morning was totally forgotten about but we stayed there a few weeks and that was the only slip up so I put that down to a simple mistake. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostbuster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Driffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
6.3 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
9 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
226 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Star Inn
#1 of 1 in Nafferton
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: 57 Middle Street North, Driffield YO25 6SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Driffield
Price Range: $83 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion is a family friendly pub with Bed & Breakfast offering comfortable affordable accomodation with great home cooked food at great prices. Meals 2 for £10 or Steaks 2 for £15 plus Kids Eat Free Monday - Saturday 5-8pm Full English breakfast served 10am - 12 noon Saturdays Only £4.95 Sunday Roast served 12-3pm Only £6.95 Live Bands every Saturday night 9.30pm till Late Home of Hardwired Open Mic Nights two Fridays a month ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Driffield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing