We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Raleigh Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Helen H
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The barn is absolutely beautiful and perfect for children and adults of all ages. We enjoyed the wildlife and our two year old loved watching the barn owl and chickens. The barn has been converted to a fantastic standard with very thoughtful extras, plenty of Dvds and games for evenings and bad UK weather days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offroad19...
Mirambeau, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodation, superb.”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Raleigh Barn was an excellent choice and can only be described as excellent with all the mod cons and superb clean rooms and beautiful accommodation with no expense spared. The north Devon coast and surrounding areas are tranquil with much to offer couples and families. The Dartmoor National Park is within easy reach and the area is a paradise for walkers, hikers, photgraphers and cyclists. We would definitely recommend to others and would also return without any hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb accommodation which was exceptional and well above the rest to date.
Liked least: Nothing at the accommodation but some roads are very narrow and are difficult in a large car/4x4.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie N
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous spot with surrounding countryside”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a wonderful week we had at Raleigh barn for our first family holiday. We travelled with our 6 month old son and we were all so relaxed he slept through the night for the first time. The barn has been converted to a high standard with luxurious soft furnishings which make coming back to the barn after a day of exploring a pleasure.
Raleigh is ideally situated for exploring the coast and countryside of North Devon, and even crossing into Cornwall. Myles and Sarah were very accomodating when our arrival was slightly delayed and with a cake and everything you need for a cup of tea awaiting you what more could you ask for?

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenb198...
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage, cosy, warm and very well appointed - peace in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay saw every season in 10 days, and what a glorious cottage from which to enjoy it! Very clean and well equipped, warm which was great for our 6 month old baby and surrounded by complete peace. The cake on arrival was such a welcome luxury! The bathroom and bedrooms are lovely, the fire perfect for snuggling up on a breezy March evening and the kitchen beautifully styled. We'll return without a doubt and will highly recommend Raleigh barn to friends. Thanks Myles and Sarah! Good luck with the sage doors project.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstevensw...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid luxurious peace all week”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The quality of the accommodation was excellent and the price is outstanding value. The owners met us, let us in and then left us in total privacy all week to enjoy a fabulous barn conversion. The heated oak floors, the brand new Laura Ashley towels, super comfortable huge expensive oak bed, great bathrooms, luxurious showers, lovely kitchen, comfy sofas, dining table, and log burner with great fire wood were all appreciated. All this was in a beautiful countryside. We even found a freshly made cake in the kitchen. Best Victoria Sponge we have ever eaten. I ran around deserted lanes and bridleways at dawn. We all read lots of books and watched some of the great DVD collection popping out in the dark to listen to the owls before bed. We cycled on the Tarka Trail nearby. One of the longest and smoothest and most beautiful off road cycle rides in the country. Great real food market in Barnstaple and plenty of interesting local food suppliers nearby. There was a leather folder full of carefully thought out walks and things to do, all of which seemed good ideas. We sat on a beautiful shore alone and ate our lunch gazing past the seals under diving ravens towards Lundy Island. Baby lambs all over the nearby fields. This is clearly a newly restored property just on the rental market. It’s a fabulous one. The children loved this holiday and so did we. Thank you for leaving us is such splendid peace all week and thank you for providing us with such clean and wonderful accommodation. Thank you also for laying on the supermarket delivery option for our arrival. Excellent stay for us. We will come back. Regards from the Stevens family, Hampshire, UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated floors and luxurious privacy
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntFamil...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Perfect English country getaway. Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We are two Australian couples (and an infant) that stayed at Raleigh Barn in November 2014. We were looking for an English countryside getaway, somewhere quiet and comfortable, and upon arriving and staying at Raleigh Barn we were truly blown away. It was exactly what we were looking for. A cake upon arrival, the barn nice and warm and instantly we felt relaxed. Myles and Sarah were extremely hospitable and given we had our 10 month old daughter with us, they wanted to make sure everything was just right, and it was. The barn is extremely well renovated, they have both done a superb job. Great views of the countryside, and only 15 mins to Bideford fpr supplies, the barn is very well located for a great getaway. We would highly recommend a stay here, and we have been telling our friends in Australia about Raleigh ever since returning back to Oz in late 2014. Top work Myles and Sarah!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property layout and homely, very comfortable feel
Liked least: Running out of hot water, but given the property and system is new, it had not been tested with 4 adults and a toddler.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannahS...
1 review
“We will be coming back”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Ok where do I start. You arrive on a winter day. Take your shoes off in the out room and step into the barn. The warmth of the barn provided under the floor is amazing. There is a fresh cake say there looking at you and fresh milk in the fridge, everything you need for a nice cup of tea and cake to get settled in. Looking around you see the log fire (with wood provided !!!! Unlike others. And don't worry you can get more if you run out!!) you open your welcome book with everything you need to know(and its personised to you! ) everything! And there are leaflets about your local area in the magerzine rack and a map in the out room for everything near by you need. That's pretty amazing in my opinion for your welcome. Myles was always ready to help and they have a lovely young dog who was very friendly and very good behaviour. Before we even got there we got a quote and they got back to us withing an hour and even offered if we wanted food shopping delivered they would put is away for us so that we wouldn't have to even worry about it :). I recommend following Myles directions as the satnav loves tiny roads and I mean tiny one track steep roads. We ended up ignoring our satnav and pulling them out. I loved the fact there was no phone service there and wifi was still there if we needed it. There was amazing bathing suites and the bath had an amazing view. You will see. I can't say anything negative.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing