We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit a pleasant surprise”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before but last time I was disappointed. We chose it this time because of its location and knowledge of the Brend brand.
This visit we were very pleasantly surprised to find an upgrade in decor and service. The receptionist was delightful, friendly and very helpful. We had been given a complimentary upgrade on our room and although the room was small it was beautifully presented. The bed was huge and comfy apart from the usual zipped up the middle lumps and bumps!
We slept well once a rowdy wedding party had got themselves to the correct rooms and settled down!
Sadly the restaurant does not have any windows and therefore appears dark but breakfast was a pleasant experience and the food was acceptable for three star, I particulalry enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Staff accommodated the wedding party that arrived for breakfast in dribs and drabs and there was much moving of tables as they wished to start the morning together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hotel once again and to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is always great to hear great feeding back regarding the level of service from the staff. It was very pleasing to hear that you found your room comfortable, service good and the food excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

From all of us here at The Royal Hotel we wish you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 588 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very impressed with cleanliness of the hotel. Unfortunately we had a problem with our room but when we brought it to the attention of staff, the way they dealt with the matter was outstanding. We were offered another room and would have been upgraded to a deluxe room if one was available. On returning to our room later in the evening we found a complimentary bottle of wine with wine glasses and a note of apology, that was icing on the cake. We would not hesitate to stay in any of the Brend Hotels if this standard is anything to go by.

Room Tip: We were in a back room, which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our second visit high standard of service and overall quality still very evident.
Must have an oustanding chef to serve up such high quality and very tasty meals all serveed with extemely efficient staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again and will certainly revisit when we can.
Have stayed in hotels all over the UK & Europe and this is one of the very best without doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 75casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is always very good hear that our residents needs have been met whilst staying in the hotel.

Your comments will be passed on our members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Three of us stayed for one night bed and breakfast in April. Lovely big room, comfy bed and reasonable price. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were helpful an polite. Would recommend and would also stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and the staff friendly.

We thank you for your comments and value them greatly.

Thank you for taking the time to write a response to your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed another very pleasant stay at The Royal - comfortable bed and good food. We stayed in one of the back rooms - very understandable fpr one night only and it was quiet. Please do something about the shower!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay and to thank you for choosing The Royal Hotel for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming to back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our first time at a Brend Hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a small problem with the basin waste and it was quickly resolved by moving us to a better room. It was a pleasant stay for 2 nights but seemed a bit lacking in something for the price. Will we stay with Brend again? Probably.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay and to thank you for choosing The Royal Hotel for your stay. I am pleased that we were able to give you an upgrade and that you enjoyed your room.

We look forward to welcoming to back to The Royal Hotel in the neqr future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here in March for one night. In fairness I think I got the last room in the inn, so I would hope that the other rooms were a little more spacious than the one I stayed in. The storage heater had been on when I opened the door, so it was a bit like entering a sauna.

Once I opened the window however and got to work the old heating system, I settled in and had a good night sleep. Breakfast was very nice the next morning and the staff were lovely. If you like a hotel with a bit of character, this is for you, although if you are claustrophobic, stay away from the single rooms, particularly if you end up in the room I happened to stay in

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulr9813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay and to thank you for choosing The Royal Hotel for your stay. We would have been more than happy to have upgraded your room if you had asked; perhaps next time you come to visit you could mention this on arrival and we would our best to accommodate your request.

I am glad you enjoyed your food, found the staff pleasant and the hotel to have character.

We look forward to welcoming to back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
210 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $103 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing