We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a very convenient location for our day trip to Lundy. Good secure car park with barrier entrance. The staff were friendly and rather casual. Room was comfortable with good beds but the old sash window would not open far and the night was warm. Beds good. Lots of hot water for a bath and the over bath shower was fine. The first breakfast on a Saturday was O.K. and they had made efforts on the Sunday with a much more continental spread of cold meats, cheese etc. (as well as the full English on the hot buffet). This may have been because they had a large coach party from Switzerland.

The downside for us was that the smell as you came into the hotel was of commercial air fresheners and not very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eve70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    193
    62
    18
    13
See reviews for
81
198
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just come back from a fab carvery.We like to go here every three weeks or so and it just gets better.Today a choice of 14 vegetables;fantastic.Beef absolutely gorgeous.The staff are great,it`s old fashioned,old English at it`s best.Sit in the lounge before or after,it`s so comfy.Ladies loos are briliant,clean,two full length mirrors.somwhere to hang your coat.If you like great food and service at a great price in a lovely homely atmosphere,you cant` beat the Royal.Will be back in two weeks on Fathers day.It`s a gem !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybetty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmza, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there in February. Perfect location, close to the centre. There are two car parks, the first one, near the hotel, is often full. In this case you have to climb a little bit to the second one. Rooms are OK, but part of the equipment is somewhat dated. This applies particularly to the windows and toilet. Bed was absolutely comfortable. Staff is very helpful. There is someone in the hotel 24/7 so you don't have to worry if you want to arrive at 1 am. This is a big advantage. Breakfast is fine but typical British style. If you are a continental guest you may be a bit disappointed. Wi-fi is free for guests, that's very good.

I would stay there again and I recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmon_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind reveiw, we are glad that you enjoiyed your stay here with us at The Royal Hotel. All reveiws are look at and any comemts are taken on baord.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was my sons wedding in the hotel so many of our family stayed at the hotel. We could not fault the superb service we received from the friendly and professional staff. The rooms were very clean and of a good standard the whole weekend was made brilliant by the service we received from all the staff including the high standard of food. Thank you all very much

Room Tip: Get one of rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved this hotel and will be going back. Good food. Friendly staff. Nice room with view.
Very clean and good decor. BUT. The plumbing lets it down. The toilets are old sani flow type with large box behind toilet to mince the waste. Very ,very noisy and takes at least 3 flushes to clear it. (waste of water). Sometimes it flows back and sometimes it makes a noise when you are actually sitting on the toilet. Sounds funny but quite a shock. When other rooms are flushing theirs at the same time, not only is it very noisy but you get a whiff of sewerage. I know it is an old building but in this day and age there must be a better solution. Please, Brend family,fix the plumbing and make it the perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a front room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Buffet lunch on a Sunday gave a good selection of basic traditional food, well cooked and presented. Comfortable, slightly old fashioned restaurant with unobtrusive but attentive staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merc-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and the family stayed here just for one night.
The hotel is located 'East the water'. Local terminology for the other side of the river from the main town of Bideford.
It's directly opposite the old bridge and has free parking either just off the roundabout (only a handful of spaces) or up the hill under the bridge and to the right with many more spaces. (The barrier raises automatically). If you park up there then you just come down the steps and cross the road to the entrance.
It's a Victorian hotel that has retained much of it's decor with modern additions, but not so much that it's spoilt or old. Reception is small, but with friendly staff eagre to help and chat.
Lift is cosy, despite the hotel claiming a 'spacious lift' with just enough room for 4 of us with two bags but it does the job.
The room had one of those fantastic high ceilings that I love. It makes the room look and feel much larger.
We had a family room. Double bed...a huge double bed. Must have been King or even Super King, a single bed and a folding bed with a proper mattress and quilts. The folding bed did cause a slight niggle in that the only space free was infront of the wardrobe.
En suite was fine. Clean with complimentary soaps etc. Bath and shower head. But top tip! Have a bath not a shower. I think the water is connected to all the other rooms so it had a tendency to go very hot to very cold very quickly.
There's plenty of tea and coffee makings, biscuits and hot choc too. Flat screen TV, but we didn't turn i on.
Our view was of the start of the Tarka Trail. The disused rail line, now cycle path leading from Torrington to Barnstaple and further. Wasn't the best view but at least I could see my car from the window.
We didn't have an evening meal as went out to friends but had the breakfast which was fine.
Nice selection of cereals. Nice coffee, well made toast (it's so hard to get good toast in hotels I find) and a good hearty full English with other options available from the menu.
My one gripe. Sorry but this can be important to some. The ketchup and brown sauce. Not every hotel splashes out on HP and Heinz, but when they don't, then most go for Daddies or maybe a supermarket brand. I'm afraid that whatever The Royal serve was neither. My daughter, a connoisuer of all things tomato sauce, gagged when she tasted the ketchup and declared it 'mingin' and I, a believer that no breakfast is complete without brown sauce, managed to clear my blocked sinuses with the brown offering that was, I hasten at add, expertly placed onto my grub. Joking apart, it actually spoilt my food because it was so nasty. A cash and carry brand I suspect. So please Royal, change the sauces to HP and Heinz. It makes for a much better morning dining experience.
Apart from that we had a very pleasant stay and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagtail685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing