We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday carvery”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

if you are ever in bideford on a sunday book for the carvery lunch & then walk the tarka trail to ease your guilt at eating too much as this is an all you can eat plus puddings we have been a number of times & even though we are veggies ther is plenty & a choice if you really need it of nut roast etc / the meats look pretty good also

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bus380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 598 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Appeared to be newly decorated as I could smell the paint still. Very well decorated too. Superb food & great service. A very pleasant change to see somewhere that has ample staff on duty, a rareity these days. There were 40 odd of us and the staff could not have been more friendly.
If like me you love these old hotels with marvellous big old stairscases, you'll love this hotel.
The room I had was a single and was small, but clean and the heater was very efficient. The only downside is the toilet shredder that makes hell of a noise, but thats the problem with old hotels having been upgraded over the years to ensuite, theres no 4" soil pipe running all over the hotel.
Would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Check in by a friendly receptionist was efficient and straight forward and full information given regarding meal times and facilities.

We stayed for two nights on a DBB basis whilst visiting friends and family in the town. This is a lovely classic hotel which is very clean, comfortable and the water in the shower is always hot and flows well. It has free car parking too. Excellent value!

The very large restaurant was closed and a small dining area had been set up just off the bar. In fact we thought this was very nice and with a window table were able to watch the world go by. On the first evening my elderly mother joined us for dinner and food and service were good. On the second evening we were joined by my sister and brother-in-law and again we were not disappointed. Menu offers a good choice and a selection of fresh vegetables included. Breakfast too will not disappoint as everything from smoked haddock to full English. All served with a smile by friendly staff. The barman on the Friday night was charming - his assessment of guests was good knowing who to chat with and who to leave alone.

The location is good being within a short walk of the town centre and with extremely easy road access to other locations.

Well done "The Royal"!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room overlooking the Tarka Trail as rooms at the front are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for kind remarks. We are very pleased that you had a lovely break with us, its always a pleasure to know. We hope you will be returning to us throughout the year again to see are newly decorated Regency Restaurant and bar.

Assuring you are best intentions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

5th or 6th year staying at the Royal with my shooting party, as always wonderful staff, friendly and good fun. Skye my labrador,was welcomed and made a great fuss of by the staff.
If you are looking for a really good, comfortable country hotel with great service and food, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Seeing the new year in for the 3rd year here is as always a nice way to start the new year. The friendly faces of the staff who have been here for as long as I have been coming.The food is excellent with plenty of choice . The beds nice and comfy and rooms nice and clean . Hope to be back to see in 2014 .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PENNY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We used to do these breaks. Not done one for a while. We strolled in to the Royal in the summer and loved it. It was also built next to the old line, Tarka Trail which we have been exploring.
We bought a 3 day special break Dinner B&B, good value so my brother and Sister in law came too all the way from Kent.

Brilliant time we upgraded to a superior room [208] which was huge and had table and huge lounge chairs with lots of furniture. The decor was in keeping period but freshly decorated and spotless. Huge Bay window overlooking the old platform and trail. We were very comfortable with lovely breakfasts and 'fine dining' dinners in the evening. 3 courses with coffee and mints too!!
All this was made nicer by the friendly affable and engaging Dawn and the other staff.

Thank you all we loved it. Planning to return again soon to do more walking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

One of the Brend Hotel chain, this was good value. Staff were very welcoming, and showed us where to park...up the road and near the old station... There are nice walks in the area. There was a wedding reception when we were there, so we dined out. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Convenient for RHS Rosemoor gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $91 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing