We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Railway Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel sits right next to the old railway station. On the line that now forms part of the Tarka Trail. So is conveninet if you are walking or cycling that trail. Originally I believe it was built as a merchants house. But with the decline of the port and the advent of the railway it was turned into a hotel. It is close to the old stone bridge that takes you into the centre of old Bideford. Hotel dated, but staff were very pleasant. This hotel is part of a small chain of hotels in the south west. some of them a bit more upmarket.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 613 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to the Royal again yesterday for their carvery.At £7.95 it`s really hard to beat on price,but the beef was excellent,and the choice of veg immense,boiled,roast and mash,parsnips,cabbage,red cabbage,baby onions,swede cauli bake,ratatouille and more.An old fashioned gem with polite attentive staff and a warm and cosy atmosphere.
I am so pleased to be living here and having this place on my doorstep.I think it takes some beating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bettybetty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for three nights DBB on their Autumn Break Deals,which was very good value.The hotel was warm & welcoming,with staff pleasant & attentive.The decor throughout is befitting to age of the building, having character & victorian feel about it.People who like the modern box type fast image hotel would hate the Royal!The dining experience was good,the freshly cooked to order breakfast was excellent.We used Bideford as a base for touring the area,with the Royal meeting our needs,which made our stay very satisfactory & you cannot get any closer to the Tarka trail!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davieslyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very helpful well trained staff,a refreshing change in this day & age. Although dated in it's decor & facilities it is very good value for money & very comfortable.Noise from the kitchen fan can be anoying, depending on which room you have.It is well placed for exploring Bideford and the surrounding area and has a welcoming feeling on your return after a day out
Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lundybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just had a wonderful weekend for great value.
The deluxe room 204 has great views and although noisy this was more than compensated for by the size and layout as well as the comfortable bed.
The staff were all very engaging particularly Paul and made our stay very enjoyable.
The dinner and breakfast were also excellent
We will certainly return with friends and family
Chris and Theresa Oliver
Emsworth

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just spent two nights on a half board basis.
I thought the staff were great and the quality of meals exceeded expectations.
I made a last minute booking and the rate obtained represented great value.
I would certainly recommend for anyone looking for accomodation in Bideford

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is traditional and welcoming, the staff are really welcoming and helpful but nobody seems to want to do anything about the noise that come up from the kitchens.

We noticed the extraction fans noise in the afternoon and asked if it went on all night. We were told that it didn't and would switch off about 9pm. We could have moved rooms at this time but as we were assured that the noise wouldn't continue we chose to stay put. At 10.30 the fans were still going so we rang down and someone switched them off. Then more clanking banging and general hotel kitchen noises continued along with shouting and loud conversations until about 1am. The refrigeration unit also continued to rattle on and off all night and about 2.30pm a member of staff threw a metal mop bucket out. All in all no sleep! I Reported this to the reception in the morning suggesting that they put in some double glazing, but also no reduction in costs were offered. In all make sure you have a room at the front!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $65 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing