We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all round entertainment younge and old”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. NEW FOR 2016: The BIG One Rollercoaster Visit the South West's biggest family roller coaster which can be ridden by everyone over 4 years old! 400m of awesome fun, over 12m high with two lift hills and guaranteed to make you smile! Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too. After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good all round entertainment younge and old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

There is something for everyone from the very young to the older person. Animals, eats and Play items.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dauntless65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

We aim to entertain everyone that visits us, so it's really great to hear the whole group, no matter what age, had such a fantastic day!

We hope you'll all be back again soon for another visit.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,135
    395
    158
    88
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Throughly enjoyed the fun and experience for all the family. Highly recommend.
Plus the toilets were impeccably clean.
Thanku

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ushancocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 29, 2013
A BIG thank you for your review. It's great to hear the whole family had such a fantastic day out on your visit.

Sue will be so pleased you appreciated her hard work keeping the toilets clean!

We hope to see you soon for another visit.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bideford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good day out but expensive so bring a picnic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Im a season card holder (£32 for the year) so once the inital outlay is done its a really cheap attraction - coffees, ice creams etc but for a family it would be a really pricey day out which is fine in the summer but if its wet it may be best to give it a miss.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank averillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you have become a Season Ticket holder, you'll benefit from lots of exclusive offers and special events throughout the year, including Peppa Pig and Mike the Knight character days in 2014.

We have lots of indoor attractions to enjoy as well as outdoor, so you can still have a fantastic day even in the soggy weather. Most of our shows are indoors, as well as the animal barn, and indoor play area. Even the tractor and train have overhead covers so you can enjoy these too. We are also in the final stages of having a new event area which can also be used to enjoy your picnics if the weather is too wet :)

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large purse needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A great place for the children........but expensive as you have to pay quite a bit to get in and then pay for other bits as well, therefore I say do it once and then the beach! From one who lives here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback, especially as a local.

Our entrance fee does include all 11 of our shows, as well as the indoor play area, animal barn, tractor ride, train ride, your first free 9 lives on the battlefield, piggy pull along ride, twister ride and jumping pillows. Some rides do carry a nominal charge as they cannot be used by everyone and this would unfairly increase the admission cost for everyone else.

We are pleased you thought our attraction was great for your children and we hope to see you again in the future for another visit.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This attraction is really local to me so was the ideal place to take my grandaughter. She loved the fact that she could pet some of the animals and thought the racing was brilliant and really funny. I thought it was a great place to educate children of the importance of caring for animals etc and would recommend it as a family attraction

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Animal welfare is one of our core values, we hope to teach youngsters about the importance of looking after animals so it's great to hear you thought that.

We hope to see you again soon for another visit!

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing