We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!”
Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Looking for a guaranteed day out that’s fun for all the family – then look no further than The BIG Sheep. No matter what the weather, this award-winning family attraction is guaranteed to be the highlight of your holiday. Come rain or shine Devon’s friendliest attraction has an action-packed programme of rides, shows, animals, indoor play and events to keep everyone in the family entertained all day long. The attraction was set up to create great holiday memories and the BIG Sheep ‘flock’ look forward to giving visitors to the park a totally EWEnique day out. The BIG Sheep is home to Devon’s most popular and largest roller coaster, plus 12 hilarious, EWEnique shows, with undercover viewing area. Outdoor play includes giant jumping pillows, twister ride, splash zone and archery tag. Gentle rides for toddlers include Piggy Pull-Along, Tractor Safari, self-drive Tractor Track, Pony Rides, Vintage Carousel, Swan pedaloes. Fantastic events throughout the year - www.thebigsheep.co.uk
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time here with my 15 month old girl. She loved being able to get up and close with the animals and had a great time on all the rides. Fully recommend to anyone with little ones!

Thank Loryn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

What a great start to a cold and windy Monday morning! Thanks for such a positive review and we are delighted your little girl had ‘an amazing’ time with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,645 - 1,649 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited this place in 2004 and it was good then, but it has had a bit of a facelift. it has tractor rides, a boating lake, fairground ride, paintball (pay extra), bouncy pillows, splash zone, adventure playground. it had the same as before, which they do really well - sheep display, duck trials, sheepdog trials, horse rides, train, petting zoo good indoor play area, sheep shearing and of course the famous sheep race. You buy a £1 badge with one of six sheep's names on and that's your bet and you may win something!! A great place for a bargain price and the staff are lovely and obviously enjoy what they do.

Thank savedbygrace280875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hiya…what a great review, thank you so much. I will share your comments about our ‘lovely’ staff and I’m sure they will all be chuffed. We do try to invest in new rides and attractions each year and I love your phrase ‘bit of a facelift’ – what a great description! Our sheep race is still one of our most popular attractions and still makes me chuckle even though I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve seen it – hope you had a successful bet and took home a prize winning cup!...Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Took young family here yesterday and had a great day. We kept on finding more to do around the corner! We absolutely loved the bouncing pillows and the sheep race was hilarious. Although it can be quite costly to get in, majority of activities are included and it's a real action packed day. Food in cafe was beautiful. The only thing we said was that we needed more time as we didn't get there until midday and left at about 4pm. You could easily stay all day. Feel Big Sheep could better advertise the shows on in the main area though as we didn't have a clue what was on and at what time. Small ask though as we all thoroughly enjoyed and would definitely go again! Plus Farmer Matt doesn't stop all day - lovely bloke and real asset to your team.

Thank Lucylocket2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello, thanks for your review – you made Farmer Matt’s day when I showed him what you had written – one very happy chappy! So pleased you had such a good time with us and felt you had ‘an action packed day’. You should have been given a time table of shows when you arrived to help you plan your day and I will make sure these are being given out when visitors arrive. We have now installed a computer situated in the reception area which shows highlights of the shows, so thanks for your suggestion. Look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We experienced the park over two days as day one was wet and our return was full of sunshine.
Seemingly aimed at families with little children, there were a number of all adult parties there too!!

The park is quite small and easy to navigate even if you have mobility problems.

The shows and talks were short and informative and interactive! The sheep show was brilliant culminating in visitors being able to "meet and greet" the sheep and feed them too!

Opportunities to feed lambs were busy, but well organised that all who wished to take part had the chance, 7 lambs and 50 feeders!!!!! Brilliant experience.

Duck trials was another fun and interactive experience. Sheepdog herding ducks through fences and obstacles was good to watch.

There were other shows, which we didn't see, but included sheep sheering!!

There is a barn that contains sheep, goats, Pygmy goats, miniature pony and foal and pigs and piglets, with opportunities to feed the sheep... They are very greedy and can hear the food bag rustle long before they can see it! Sheep food can be purchased on entry.
There are several places to wash your hands after the animal encounters...staff remind everyone to do this too.

There are various activities around the park, including a short train ride, farm safari, piggy ride, football training, combat training, chair-o-planes, peddle go-karts and our favourite...the inflatable bouncy pillows!! One for kids and one for adults!!!! Seriously a must for all adults to experience!!!!!

Finally the highlight of our second day was the sheep racing!!! Take a bet on which sheep will win and win a prize if you backed the right sheep. Six sheep with knitted jockeys on their backs run the 60 meters or so, over the steeple chase to the finishing post to the food bucket!! Cheering your sheep on is half the fun. The excitement is over in less then 20 seconds unless your sheep wins, in which case you are invited to the winners enclosure to receive your prize!

The food in the cafe was good and prices not too bad.
Toilet facilities were good.
Staff were friendly and helpful and ran the shows with knowledge.
Some lovely things to buy in the shop.

Overall a brilliant day out. Not just for kids, but adults too!! We were a party of 2 pensioners and 2 adults all of whom thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Not too expensive to get in, but you are given a voucher to return within a week for only £5, this is why we did two days!!
Certainly something we would love to do again and will recommend to family and friends who are visiting North Devon.

Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello, many thanks for such a super review and for recommending us so highly. Reviews like yours always make us smile and reassures all the team that we are getting things right. Ensuring our visitors have an excellent day out with us is of paramount importance to all the BIG Sheep flock and it is fantastic when we get such an encouraging review – thanks a million

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

this is ideal for kids aged ten and under, we took a 2yr old, 3 yr old, a baby and 4 adults!! so much to do and see, lots of rides for all ages, especially the little ones. indoor play barn too, again, something for all ages, even adults! sheep racing, duck herding, everything was fantastic! the staff running the rides were friendly and helpful. lots of picnic places too, and a nice cafe with not very high prices. we didnt think the entrance price was too high, and most of the rides you paid extra for were only a £1, we thought it was terrific value and if you go again withing 7 days, you can get in for £5. Be sure to choose a fine day to go, as most of the attractions are outside.
Well done to the managers of this site, it was brilliant!

Thank sueofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello, your comment ‘something for all ages’ is music to our ears as we really aim to offer something for all age groups so it is great to hear you endorse this. Delighted you all had a great day out with us and are extremely grateful to you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing