We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you would think”
Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Looking for a guaranteed day out that’s fun for all the family – then look no further than The BIG Sheep. No matter what the weather, this award-winning family attraction is guaranteed to be the highlight of your holiday. Come rain or shine Devon’s friendliest attraction has an action-packed programme of rides, shows, animals, indoor play and events to keep everyone in the family entertained all day long. The attraction was set up to create great holiday memories and the BIG Sheep ‘flock’ look forward to giving visitors to the park a totally EWEnique day out. The BIG Sheep is home to Devon’s most popular and largest roller coaster, plus 12 hilarious, EWEnique shows, with undercover viewing area. Outdoor play includes giant jumping pillows, twister ride, splash zone and archery tag. Gentle rides for toddlers include Piggy Pull-Along, Tractor Safari, self-drive Tractor Track, Pony Rides, Vintage Carousel, Swan pedaloes. Fantastic events throughout the year -
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 23, 2013

You would think, "What on earth can there be so interesting about sheep?" Strangely a lot.

This is not a petting zoo, and makes a pleasant change.

Although mainly about sheep, the live shows are entertaining for adults & children alike, and very informative. You will see from corralling ducks to horses, and of course sheep.

We didn't do all of what was on offer, but made the most of what we participated in.

The Cafe is very good with a wide choice, not exactly cheap but good value with plenty of healthy options.

Staff seemed to be always on hand throughout the complex, they are well trained and helpful.

If there is any criticism, there is a kiosk across the bridge selling drinks and they were not chilled, in fact were quite warm and a fridge in there would make all the difference, strange really being it sold ice-creams. Was a hot day and they would have been refreshing.

Well recommended.

Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback!

We are pleased to hear you all had a great day out on your recent visit, and made the most of your day out with us.

Thank you for your comments about our kiosk. We do have fridges in the kiosk, so I will ensure that they are being used.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"roller coaster"
in 352 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 184 reviews
"duck trials"
in 132 reviews
"lamb feeding"
in 93 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 178 reviews
"all ages"
in 202 reviews
"combat zone"
in 43 reviews
"great family day"
in 94 reviews
"swan boats"
in 35 reviews
"end of the day"
in 61 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 34 reviews
"piggy tractor"
in 31 reviews
"soft play"
in 107 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 31 reviews
"go karts"
in 56 reviews
"baby lambs"
in 34 reviews
"value for money"
in 116 reviews
Filter

2,120 - 2,124 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

With shows every half an hour that last 20minutes each there is plenty here to keep you occupied of which the highlight is the sheep race at 3:50pm! The Staff are friendly and passionate about their work.

Thank MissAmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a fantastic full day out with us.

We completely agree, our world famous sheep race is definitely one not to be missed! It's even better if your sheep wins!!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area, and hope to see you again very soon :)

Best Regards,

Nicola :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

been now from when it opens to closing time with my daughter aged 4, 6 and now 7. enjoyable in the cold, heat or rain as long as the child is over 3 foot tall. show and ride timetable is very handy, always something on. will certainly be back

Thank AP073
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you had a great day out.

We aim to be an all weather attraction, so to hear that you agree really puts a big smile on our faces :)

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon :)

Best Regards,

Nicola :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visit the Bideford area 2 or 3 times a year and we always go to the big sheep. We have a three year old daughter and a two year old son and they both love it.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and the place is always clean and tidy.
Of course good weather helps, but you can't hold that against the Big Sheep.
I would gladly recommend a visit to the Big Sheep to anyone who wants a good day out near Bideford.

1  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

A BIG thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you have had such fantastic days out that you keep coming back for more!

We a strive to be an all weather attraction, with many of our shows, and attractions being undercover so you can enjoy them come rain or shine!

We can't wait to see you on your next visit :)

Best Regards,

Nicola :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a 50% off voucher and thought we would use it to entertain our 2 1/2 year old on a Thursday afternoon.

He enjoyed the rides and animals but the waiting for activities to open due to limited staff on rides. Only saw 2 members of staff moving from one ride to another and 4 cleaning the food kiosk in Play area!!

If we had paid full price for 2 adults and a toddler I would have demanded a refund.

Food was good in restaurant. Drinks were very expensive.

To us it just seemed to have no identity. It was just trying to entice people in but didn't do much to want you to go back as you could do it all in a couple of hours. Even our 2 year old asked if he could go back to the caravan and we normally have to fight to get him to leave an activity centre.

Will not recommend.

Thank Rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed a discounted rate to our attraction but sorry to hear you would have ‘demanded’ a refund if you’d paid full price.

We always aim to give all our customers a fantastic day out and if they are not happy with their experience we are more than happy to discuss any issues with them in a constructive dialogue to attempt to find a resolution.

We operate our rides on a rotational basis to help maximize your day out with us, giving you the opportunity to see all the rides, shows and attractions we have on offer throughout the day. Some rides are limited to an opening time of 20 minutes because there are other shows and attractions open to enjoy too around these times. Our animal shows run from 11am until 4:30pm every day and then you have the indoor play, animal barn, jumping pillows, twister, tractor, train, swan pedlos, pedal go karts plus more to enjoy.... You can spend a whole day out just watching the shows.



All our food in the restaurant is locally sourced and homemade and we are pleased you enjoyed it.

I am surprised you felt our attraction didn’t have an ‘identity’. We work very hard each year and have hours of fun with staff and visitors coming up with ideas to theme the park. Every year we see an increase in repeat visitors to the park who come back for more fun.

We hope you enjoyed the sunny weather and the rest of your caravanning holiday in glorious North Devon and found lots of other things to do and enjoy.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing