We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Santa's breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. NEW FOR 2016: The BIG One Rollercoaster Visit the South West's biggest family roller coaster which can be ridden by everyone over 4 years old! 400m of awesome fun, over 12m high with two lift hills and guaranteed to make you smile! Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too. After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved the Santa's breakfast!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came to The Big Sheep for the Santa's Breakfast that they put on in December. It was fabulous!

Breakfast was lovely (cooked full English with tea/coffee). The kids got to talk to Santa who walked around whilst everyone ate their breakfast.There were colouring crayons and pictures on the table, along with crackers and certificate for each child.

After breakfast the children got presented with a stocking (appropriate to their age) which was full of presents.

We then spent the day playing in the vast soft play area and enjoyed a train and twister ride!

Thank you to The Big Sheep for providing a great experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 521Louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed our Santa Breakfast.

We hope to see you at this years Santa Breakfast, we can't wait!!!

Kind Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,125
    394
    158
    88
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun for Children”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Despite the pouring rain this proved a useful way to spend an afternoon with small children.

Some sat in the restaurant and drank tea whilst others went for the full experience.

The Farmers' Market was also well worth a visit but I think these are only organised in December.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WagglerTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The BIG Sheep and got to experience our annual Farmers' Market.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basildon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE BID SHEEP”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

the big sheep is great for young children and also allows parents to chill whilst the children play in the climbing and soft play area which is not small along with the cafe. lots to do with sheep and demonstrations. For the man there is a brewery on the site where you can see how the local beer is brewed along with small samples.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic visit to us in April. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came here as part of the holiday itinery with Shearings. I did not know what to expect. It was brilliant. First we saw a sheep been sheared. the comedy between the Shearer and the prersented was great. The ougyht to be on the stage as an act. The second show was to meet the sheep. One by one all different breeds were bought on. They seemed to know which part of the stand to go on. The comentary was great. After the show we could meet the sheep and stroke them. I expected the wool to be soft and cuddly, was amazed how hard it was. They were not fazed at all by the public and I think they enjoyed the attention. Want to go there again especiaaly in summer. there is plenty there. Children will adore it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank joanantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 27, 2012
A big thank you from everyone here at The BIG Sheep. We are thrilled to hear you had such a fantastic visit with us.

We are already looking forward to seeing you next summer!!

Kind Regards

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Kept our grandson entertained”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Despite the bad weather, we chose to go to Big Sheep as it was a mainly indoor attraction and also because the caravan site we were staying on offered 1/2 price admission. We did not watch all the shows as we were slightly tied for time, but we did watch the different sheep breeds being brought it. My grandson and I both had fun on the go carts. Having visited during Halloween week, made it even more special. The day we visited, we got free pumpkins and had great fun carving them. We took them home in the car and two stays later we put candle lights in them for bonfire night in the garden. We enjoyed the spooky tractor ride. The haunted house really freaked me out, I was hanging on to my little grandson as I was genuinely scared. The indoor soft play area gave him so much fun. This was my grandsons second visit to Big Sheep and our first visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank babst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, November 8, 2012
A big thank you from us all here at The BIG Sheep for taking the time to write a lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic day out with your grandson, and found lots to keep you entertained throughout the day.

The haunted house is very spooky, you were very brave for going in it!!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Kind Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing