We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have now eaten here a few times”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Collective

Cafe Collective
Ranked #11 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We pride ourselves on offering home cooked food using locally sourced produce. Our extensive menu offers a range of cooked breakfasts, lunches, homemade pizzas, sharing boards, homemade cakes and cream teas. We have been told that our coffee is the "best in the West!" Our cafe is dog friendly and are fully licensed, offering a selection of local ciders, beer and wines.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Have now eaten here a few times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Soups. Omelettes. Aubergine gratin. Rissotto. ... polenta orange cake. Carrot cake. B
Choc brownies...... all A1. Fresh good portions hot and very tasty. ... this cafe fits into this town beautifully...... I recommend

Helpful?
2 Thank wendymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic family lunch location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have reviewed this place once already but went again recently with my daughter as a girls' treat lunch out. My daughter had the amazing omelette & chips & I diversified (slightly!) from last time & had the mozzarella & tomato board with THAT amazing homemade pesto. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome and had a lovely afternoon. Once again I was surprised at the exceptionally high value at a very reasonable cost, something that is hard to come by these days. Thank you.

We've booked supper club in May so I'm looking forward to making that my review hattrick!
xx

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something unique, stylish, arty for Bideford, oh & the foods great too :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was lucky enough to get a table at their monthly popular super clubs. It was a lovely change to go for a meal where the atmosphere was intimate yet inclusive. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming and the food, all prepared on site, was stunning....the best chicken I've had in a long time, and I can cook!! I'm not a huge chocolate person, yet polished of mine and my partners chocolate pot mouse desert. I'm just waiting till I can get a table for another night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGloriousOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect place to eat, see & do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fabulous food (omelette & cake for me), friendly staff & a lovely ambience. Great tunes on the speakers & great coffee in my cup x Best little hang out in Bideford. can't wait for the knit n' natter evenings & the supper clubs x I'm hooked, you're not getting rid of me now I've found you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoxyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the reviews here, thought we would pop in and see for ourselves. We weren't disappointed, nice coffee, friendly staff, but the cakes were the best part. The wife and I shared a piece of carrot cake, this was nice and moist, with plenty of flavour. We also had the orange polenta cake, now I wasn't too sure about this one when we ordered, and when I looked at it at the table, I thought it may be dry and perhaps this would mean it wouldn't be very tasty, I was wrong. It had a very nice texture, not moist, but not dry either, but what surprised me the most was the lovely orange flavour that came through, it was delicious. The cafe decor was also nice and rather retro, which added to the very laid back feel to the place. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taff0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Collective also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Collective? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing