We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, homely, scenic and an ideal base to...”
Three Squirrels Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Three Squirrels Lodge
Lounge With Picture Window Picture Window Onto Verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Three Squirrels Lodge
Lounge With Picture Window
Picture Window Onto Verandah
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Secluded View From Verandah
Exterior
Double Bedroom ( With En Suite )
Twin Bedroom
Kitchen
Fishing Lakes - Free To Our Guests - Carp To 22 lb
Fishing Lakes - Free To Our Guests - Carp To 22lb
Fishing Lakes - Free To Our Guests - Carp To 22 lb
You Have Arrived
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James_K_S...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, homely, scenic and an ideal base to explore Devon and Cornwall”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a most relaxing and rejuvenating time at Three Squirrels Lodge. It's been a great base for our family holiday allowing us easy access to various theme parks and beaches around Devon and Cornwall. Bude was around 20 minutes drive and has some great beaches and cafés. The lodge itself was very comfortable, nice and light during the day, cosy at night. It was very quick to warm the rooms when needed and it had good self-catering facilities. The beds were comfy, there was plenty of storage space and we had no issues settling in. (Our five year old went to bed each night as if it were home). During our stay, we took advantage of the use of the swimming pool at nearby Penstowe Manor which was first rate (especially around lunchtime when it's most quiet). We also requested wi-fi access which came as a mobile hotspot. It worked surprisingly well for browsing the internet and updating the maps on our phones, on the brief occasions we needed to. We found the setting in general to be very pleasant and tranquil, all in all a great place to stay which we would happily return to and recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm-welcome, comfortable, scenic
Liked least: Having to drive to get groceries (we didn't take the advice given when we booked to stock up on the way!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Forest lodge, close to coast and all amenities”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have a lovely week staying in "Three Squirrels". The lodge was very well equipped and comfortable for myself, my husband and our two children, aged 6 and 8. The living space is a very good size for a holiday cottage, the beds were very comfy and everything was neat and clean and in good order.
The "welcome pack" was very welcome indeed (milk, tea bags, coffee, biscuits etc) and it was great to have all the “basics” there - loo rolls, cleaning stuff etc - you go to some places and there isn’t so much as a single loo roll!
The fishing lake is lovely – my husband is a keen angler and thought it was fantastic. He said it was very well maintained and the fish are in very good condition.
It's a quiet location but all the amenities of North Devon are right on your doorstep - we enjoyed some great days out in Westward Ho!, Hartland Abbey, Docton Mill, Dartington Crystal, Rosemoor - and the boys loved "The Milky Way".
The owner, David, was very, very helpful indeed and quick to reply to any queries.
We had a great week and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kk2014466
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy lodge in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A very comfortable cosy lodge. A great place for children to run around and enjoy the surroundings. It's also a good base to explore both Devon and Cornwall. The owner David is very prompt at replying to any queries and goes out of his way to make sure your stay is comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding areas
Liked least: No washing machine.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellan...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A well earned restful break.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I was delighted to get away from home after a very busy season at work. I didn't want to have to think about emails, phones ringing.
My wife and i chilled in this home, and returned back to Dorset feeling totally refreshed by our time in The Three Squirrels.

Days out in Bude and other coastal places were easily accessed. Restaurants were recommended by the owner, and stood the test.

Just to awaken in the morning to the sound of birds and watch mist rise and sunshine break through was what was needed. Freedom to come and go, and enjoy life together.

Thank you so much for making this available to us with short notice.

We really appreciated it.

Your's Sincerely,

Andy & Sharron

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings, and restful. Perfect get-away.
Liked least: I can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIPP34
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing family getaway”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A great holiday was has by 3 generations. It was very peaceful, with no noisy neighbours!
The cabin was very cosy and comfortable and cooking there was easy as it contained everything we needed.
We cooked most days and spent a good half of the holiday in or very near the cabin due to small babies in our party and desiring some great family time.
Board games and DVDs which were there were an added bonus.
The owner was very approachable and helpful when I called him to check details before we arrived, and responded very quickly to my emails. Very reassuring.
The website is very helpful and gives you a serious amount of information on the area should you need it.
In my opinion the cabin is a well hidden gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the tranquil environment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quiggers
quiggers
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lodge,very peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A great lodge within a community of lodges.Yes you need a car because its isolated,but on the plus side its very relaxing after a day on the beach in Bude,or a day out,make sure you get to the Eden Project.We took advantage of the private fishing lake,it was outstanding.Do bring tackle to catch big Carp,I was expecting a few Rudd and tench etc.Instead I was catching Carp to 20lb and that was only fishing 7-10 pm after a family day out.The quality of the fishing was a massive plus,bait is available from a top notch angling shop facing the Canal in Bude,across from The Falcon Hotel.The lodge was clean,cosy and for late evening a full TV service.We had a great time.and happily recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing