We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We received an extremely warm and friendly welcome and our room was lovely. The hotel is particularly clean and has all that you need to make your stay pleasant. Jane, Steve, and Mum are more than happy to chat to you and give their time freely and attentively. I think an English breakfast can be judged by the quality of it's sausage and these were good, and everything was cooked superbly and served efficiently. As part of a group going to Lundy for a long weekend, Steve and Jane went way past the call of duty and transported us all, with luggage down to the quay side to meet our boat. Similarly they picked us all up again on our return. This was very much appreciated and serves only show what wonderful hotel this is. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 2, whilst being a little on the small side and not technically having an en-suite, has a wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    44
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
81
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

On arrival we were immediately made welcome by Jane and her delightful mother. After showing us to our room, which was clean and well appointed, we were invited into the lounge where tea and biscuits were waiting for us. We later met Jane's husband, Steve, who was equally welcoming. This charming couple have only had the hotel since January and enthusiastically told us their ideas to upgrade the hotel. Yes, it is a little tired and in need of some TLC but was clean and comfortable and we could not fault our long weekend stay. We wish them every success and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulprest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Jane and Steve, the new owners since January 2014, greeted us upon our arrival and were so nice and made you feel right at home. The hotel is lovely and Jane and Steve have lots of wonderful plans for the hotel to include a bar. Jane is a terrific cook and she prepared so much food we could hardly move when we were done. Mum is a sweetheart with a twinkle in her eye and was a great tour guide for our next stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crabbydicks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Loved this place! Steve,Jane and Mum make you feel right at home. They are 3 of the nicest people we meet in all of England. Steve drove us down in town . Was a great tour guide. Jane is an amazing cook and lady. And Mum you just want to take her home with you. The Hotel itself is charming. Built in the late 1800s Jane and Steve have brought it back to life. They have exciting plans for its future. The town is lucky to have them . The rooms are very clean and nice. Loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabbydicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great reception Jane and Steve very welcoming. Tea on arrival was a lovely touch after a long journey, they were helpful advising on local resturants etc. The room we had was a superior, beautiful high quality bedding and duck down duvets, presented to a high standard, shower was brilliant. Breakfast was high quality and plentyful with cereals,toast and cooked breakfast offered. Good sized carpark on site, amazing views over the estuary. They have not long taken over and are improving the facilites all the time here cant wait to go back to see the improvements. A beautiful building and lovely gardens with a lawn to the rear that could easily hold a large marquee for a wedding and still plenty of space. Will be recomending this hotel for its great value and high standards of customer services they couldnt do enough for us.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the front of the house it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39AngelaH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Orchard Hill Hotel at Bideford in Devon has recently been taken over by an enthusiastic couple. Jane welcomed us at the door and proceeded to make us a welcome cup of tea (I'm sure when properly up and running she will not be able to do it for every b&b client). However it was most welcome. The hotel has a view from most windows down to the small estuary town of Bideford and the River Torridge with its ancient arched stone bridge. The lounge and dining room provide tasteful furnishings with practically floor to ceiling views. Our room was tasteful with all modern facilities. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed with a proper eiderdown. The English breakfast set us up for the day and croissants were also provided for those with continental tastes; all cooked to perfection. Cannot recommend this establishment enough. Well done Jane and Steve. The future looks bright at Orchard Hill Hotel. Call in, you wont regret it. Christine and Dave from Bristol.

Room Tip: Our room had perfect views of River Torridge and Bideford and also the front garden plus was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

With 2 boys my wife and I wanted a night away to ourselves. The owners were welcoming & friendly, and the hotel had a warm, relaxing and comfortable feel to it.
Clean rooms with en-suite and an amazing breakfast.
Overall, a perfect night away with my wife, would highly recommend!
Thanks Steve and Jane :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wayfarer Inn
The Wayfarer Inn
#3 of 3 in Instow
144 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Seagate Hotel
The Seagate Hotel
#1 of 4 in Appledore
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Property: Orchard Hill Hotel
Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing