We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Quality Hotel”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Welcoming Quality Hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great reception Jane and Steve very welcoming. Tea on arrival was a lovely touch after a long journey, they were helpful advising on local resturants etc. The room we had was a superior, beautiful high quality bedding and duck down duvets, presented to a high standard, shower was brilliant. Breakfast was high quality and plentyful with cereals,toast and cooked breakfast offered. Good sized carpark on site, amazing views over the estuary. They have not long taken over and are improving the facilites all the time here cant wait to go back to see the improvements. A beautiful building and lovely gardens with a lawn to the rear that could easily hold a large marquee for a wedding and still plenty of space. Will be recomending this hotel for its great value and high standards of customer services they couldnt do enough for us.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the front of the house it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39AngelaH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    43
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
79
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Orchard Hill Hotel at Bideford in Devon has recently been taken over by an enthusiastic couple. Jane welcomed us at the door and proceeded to make us a welcome cup of tea (I'm sure when properly up and running she will not be able to do it for every b&b client). However it was most welcome. The hotel has a view from most windows down to the small estuary town of Bideford and the River Torridge with its ancient arched stone bridge. The lounge and dining room provide tasteful furnishings with practically floor to ceiling views. Our room was tasteful with all modern facilities. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed with a proper eiderdown. The English breakfast set us up for the day and croissants were also provided for those with continental tastes; all cooked to perfection. Cannot recommend this establishment enough. Well done Jane and Steve. The future looks bright at Orchard Hill Hotel. Call in, you wont regret it. Christine and Dave from Bristol.

Room Tip: Our room had perfect views of River Torridge and Bideford and also the front garden plus was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

With 2 boys my wife and I wanted a night away to ourselves. The owners were welcoming & friendly, and the hotel had a warm, relaxing and comfortable feel to it.
Clean rooms with en-suite and an amazing breakfast.
Overall, a perfect night away with my wife, would highly recommend!
Thanks Steve and Jane :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location for town.Nice clean room and en suite facilities.
Good breakfast ,no evening restaurant but plenty of places to eat in Bideford.
Stayed for one night as we were in transit from week in Ivybridge to week in Westward Ho.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely country house hotel with lots of character! The owners were extremely friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was great! Their teenage son helped out at the hotel and Sam, the dog was a delight! I really loved the family feel of the hotel and that we were able to get to know the owners a little bit. My teenage son had his own room with free wifi which he loved! Bideford has a good town with plenty of places to eat and provides a nice walk by the quayside. There is easy access to the surrounding area and some nice beaches a short drive away.

Room Tip: The owners are very accommodating and do say that they are happy to deal with any special requiremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

would recomend this hotel as a good place to stay for either for family holiday or buisness. Very clean hotel and good cooked breakfast, the owners (and dog) are friendly and make you feel welcome which is a very important factor. The hotel is set in a quiet area of bideford about a 10 min walk to the centre.
Would recomend going to Barkers restuarant in Bideford High st for a lovely evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for a week as a female travelling alone & from arrival felt very safe & comfortable. Annie & Jonathan are welcoming, the rooms are clean & the excellent breakfasts are served in a beautiful bright room. They have Sam, a lovely, gentle dog & (although I am a cat person I chose to make friends with him. He was always pleased to see me, making me feel even more welcome & at home. In fact I liked it so much I extended my stay by one night & would have made it longer had I been able to. I really hope to be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bideford hotels
0.9 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Property: Orchard Hill Hotel
Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing