We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited North Devon for 5 nights with some friends. Lovely, clean and comfy rooms. The owners are very helpful and will go out of their way to help you with anything. Breakfast was very nice and done quickly. Very quiet and relaxing place to stay so no need to feel stressed. Town is just a short pleasant walk away and has plenty of restaurants in which to choose from. There is good access to the north Devon coastal path and plenty of sandy beaches which are worth visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked hotel for a major football match being played Saturday against Bideford FC. Great hotel. Lovely couple running it, made you feel welcome nearly before you enter the door. Annie is the perfect host. Room was large and light. You can tell it has a woman's touch by the way it was laid out and the towels folded on the bed. Breakfast was lovely, juice, cereals, full English, fresh brewed coffee, my partner had a pot of tea. Stayed the Friday and Saturday night. Would have liked to stay more if it wasn't for work commitments. Hotel in a quiet location and town was a 5 min walk, mostly on the lovely coastal walk. Will stay again next time we are down. Sam the springer is cute as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights last weekend. We liked it so much, that we have booked again for a short stay in August. Annie is definately the hostest with the mostest - nothing is too much trouble! For breakfast, you just ask and before you know it, its there. The room was large and comfy with a great view. The best night sleep ever - home from home! Just ten minutes walk into town too.

Good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

our resent stay at this hotel was ok, booked with booking.com £50 as stated in reservation, then found out room was £120 a few days later when checked bank, not £120 worth of room, £50 as booked would have been better, rooms very cold, windows rattled in toilet had to fix with toilet roll, room had damp all over ceiling, tea/coffee facilities where sparce and when requested took over 4hrs to arrive and then still had to ask! still no sugar, breakfast ok, cold ok, juices ok. needs a good lick of painy all over, when called to enquire about bill women was very rude not only to but the agent at booking. com as well, WONT BE GOING BACK !!!

Room Tip: check rates with the hotel first, not very clear when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I need a special diet and Annie took the trouble to email me to check exactly what I required. It is very rare to come across such customer care. We will return !

We had a lovely stay - the breakfast was great using local suppliers. Room was comfy with a view. Sam, the dog, was a darling.

Nothing to compain about and we will be back again as soon as we can

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Orchard Hill Hotel for three night during a short stay to attend a golden wedding.We enjoyed out stay very much,we had no problems at all.Very nice large bedroom and bathroom,excellent breakfast as well.Was easy to walk (though steep walk back) into Bideford and to our friends.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here on business, had the superior twin downstairs, lovely big room and bathroom, had a great nights sleep. All very clean maybe a little tired. The hotel which is really a large B&B is a 10 minute walk into the town through a pleasant estate and along the river.
The breakfast was very good I had te smoked salmon and scrambled egg, lovely. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
612 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing