We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable and clean stay”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely stay. Comfortable and clean room. Very quiet. No noise from other rooms. Host was lovely and friendly. Breakfast delicious. Very convenient location for walking into Bideford. After living in London very relaxing and could feel the stress fall away. Have booked to come down again end of August as my stay wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lovely location, nicely decorated (downstairs), great breakfast and friendly service.
However: the single room furniture and carpet looked very tired, the traffic on the bridge right behind the house is pretty noisy and I was mischarged on my debit card. This might happen, and I got refunded most of it immediately but £5 were outstanding. It took me two phonecalls and an email to receive a cheque for £5 in the post, weeks later, with no comment or apology. It's really not up to the guest to have to chase outstanding money.

Room Tip: Out front should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidefordSpringer, Owner at Orchard Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

The reservation for this guest was made in April of this year - and it was therefore a surprise to read a review expressing such displeasure and discontentment 4 months after the actual booking.
The guest made a request for a very late check in - which was readily agreed to as with all guests who do not arrive by car and have to take public transport. The guest also asked for an extremely early breakfast the following morning, as her boat was leaving for Lundy Isle at 8am and those boarding ship are asked to embark an hour before sailing. Again the request was met with consideration and understanding.
It is the custom to ask all guests if they are happy with their rooms, the service, breakfast - in fact every aspect of their stay. In such cases strenuous efforts are made to make alternative arrangements. The guest made no comment to suggest that there was anything wrong during her stay and even at check out thanked the management for a lovely stay.
At check out the card machine did play up which meant a prolonged check out for the guest. The guest contacted the hotel 3 months after the reservation, asking for an outstanding sum of £5.00 to be paid. The management had no knowledge of this sum which would have been repaid immediately if realised. A period of a week passed during which the accounts were examined thoroughly. It was decided that in order to avoid adverse effects it would be better to refund the guest the £5.00 which was done. The payment was sent by 1st class post together with a business card and complimentary slip.
The single room to which the guest refers has a brand new shower room with shower wall. The bed and sprung mattress was purchased from a local company in February of this year. Another local company which makes its own furniture has supplied the dressing table and so on. The room is deep cleaned regularly and the hotel has been awarded a certificate of excellence by the local tourist board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

As part of a sporting visit to the South West, the staff at Orchard Hill made us feel extremely welcome and were very flexible with helping out on a number of issues, including helping out in doing some laundry in the middle of a particularly warm week, the necessessity to recycle some clothes was a must, thank you Annie.

The food is excellent and consistent. There is a lot to be said for using not only locally sourced ingredients, but quality ingredients.

The bar was always fully stocked, which is helpful for a bunch of gents on a sports tour, and the hotel is always immaculate in terms of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuLu0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

On arrival the hotel looks a little like Fawlty towers, fortunately that's where the similarity ends! The hostess is charming and very helpful, the room was clean with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for a long time. Breakfast was very nice and served in a clean spacious dining room. The hotel has a warm and inviting atmosphere and was very quiet at night despite only being 10 minutes walk from the center of Bideford. The are also dog friendly too which means I shall be back with my dog to tour North Devon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffnutt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Orchard Hill hotel, we were welcomed with smiles and a particularly friendly dog on arrival! Our room was immaculate and had a lovely view across Bideford from the window. We found the lady in charge very helpful, she offered to keep the bar open late for us in the evening and directed us on a wonderful route for jogging in the morning. The full English breakfast was superb, local sausages and eggs were delightful. No complaints whatsoever, great place to stay in Bideford.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The family who owned the B & B were very welcoming and helpful. We visited for 4 days, and they gave us recommendations on the best places to eat and visit, even phoning a restaurant to make a booking for us. There is a lounge area and breakfast room. The breafast was lovely, with all locally produced food - nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom. A little dated, but clean, tidy and warm, which are most important! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lovely vews if you request a 'room with a view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Myself and my colleagues have been travelling to and from Bideford/ Appledore area for the past couple of years and have found the accommodation to be a very mixed bag! However the Orchard Hill Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The building is old but the rooms are clean, quite and comfortable. It is a family run hotel, the family are very helpfully and obliging. The only criticism, and hence my reason for dropping a star, is the wifi. The wifi was intermittent and unreliable, as we where there on business and needed access to emails it posed a bit of a problem. Not withstanding this I would gladly stay there again, and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank FilCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
611 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $103 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing