We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robin Hill Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bideford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robin Hill Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked to stay over Christmas and had a very relaxing time, weather was awful so didnt get any walks in but just chilled out in cottage and used pool and hot tub which were fabulous. Cottage was well kitted out with everything you could need, very clean, tidy and cosy. Would love to go and stay again. Nothing negative to say. Go and see for yourselves you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It's great to read that you managed to beat the soggy weather and have a relaxing and cosy family Christmas in Gull Cottage. We knew that having the pool on hand morning, noon and night was very important for your family and are really pleased that both pool and hot tub hit the spot.
Good to know the kitchen rose to the challenge of cooking Christmas lunch! Thank you for a charming review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is an excellent venue for families with fantastic provision of child friendly items such as a high chair, stairgate, cot and bed guard. Thank you so much for setting up the cot and bed guard before we arrived in the late evening - this little extra thought was very much appreciated (and helped with transfer of sleeping children into the house!).

The pool is great and the surrounding area has lots to do for young children. We loved Big Sheep, Watermouth Castle and Westward Ho beach. We plan on returning next year if possible.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
You were our first guests in Gull Cottage since we made it one of our dog friendly cottages and we're so pleased that all five of you had such a good time at Robin Hill Farm last week.

It's good to know that the child friendly kit we supply helped take the pressure off your boot space and that you were able to get the boys smoothly transferred into cot and bed when you arrived.

We love to hear that the pool is a hit with really young children and great that you discovered several of North Devon's delights which are ideal for youngsters too - even on wet days!

It would be great to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of October. Our children 11, 10 and 6 loved the pool and the boys loved the games room and the outdoor football. The location is lovely, very idyllic away from everything. We normally like to be within walking distance of a pub/restaurant but due to the facilities we were eager to get back in the evening.

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and my husband was delighted with the nespeesso coffee machine. There was lots of up to date information on the area and the laundry area was well stocked with laundry items and items for the beach.

The only thing we would have liked to have done was have a walk around the grounds which looked wonderful. There was so much to do around the area that we just ran out of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJT_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It's lovely to hear you had such a good family holiday with us in October and got a lot of fun out of the games room, pool and outdoor play areas (great for burning of steam at the end of the day!).

The Nespresso coffee machine in each cottage is a big hit with coffee lovers - I think it packs a good punch of caffeine! We aim to make your stay as relaxing as possible from taking care of the chores in the laundry, to taking the stress out of planning next day activities by giving you lots of ideas or helping with recommendations - good to know it worked for you.

Not enough time to explore our wood and pasture? - The great thing is that our grounds will be here if and when you return so that's a half day sorted, but do bring wellies so you can paddle in the stream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Normally I would steer away from cottage complexes but this one is the exception to the rule! Incredibly clean, very well looked after, and just lovely! Beautiful welcome basket and all the conveniences you could need, including a lovely Nespresso machine which was great as I am a coffeeholic. Great facilities and I would happily return.

Room Tip: We had swallow cottage which was small but perfectly formed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - we're pleased to know that the peace and tranquility PLUS facilities at Robin Hill Farm Cottages helped all your family have as best a break as possible. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness and condition of our buildings - it makes all the hard work worth while! We love it when coffee loving guests arrive and discover the Nespresso coffee machine in their cottage - we always get such great feedback on the delicious coffee it makes. We hope to see you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Booked 2 cottages for a family holiday (10 people in total). Gull cottage has a fantastic entertaining space that got us all in for each of the nights without feeling crowded.

Great pool and play area and a private forest with a stream to take the kids around in wellies without bumping into other people.

Cottages well kitted out for a self-catering break and refreshing to have proper technology in the cottages - Panasonic flatscreens rather than 90's TVs with tape round the remote control (!)

Thoroughly recomended and keep the lemon drizzle cake to yourself..

Room Tip: Gull is great for bigger families, Puffin is great for groups of couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It's great to read that Gull Cottage worked really well as a base for your daughter's birthday celebration weekend with the family and that the fittings and equipment were up to scratch.

So pleased you went into the 'forest'! Not many of our guest do explore our wood which is a shame as, with wellies on, it is a great place to spend a few hours on a bug hunt or paddling in the stream looking for animal footprints on the river bank. Good to know that you loved our pool and play areas too!

The bedroom layout in Puffin Cottage does work best of all our cottage for a group of couples and the thick stone walls between cottages ensure that noise doesn't travel - either way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our family of four (with 8 and 12 yr old) stayed for a week at the beginning of the Summer. Blessed by the sun, we had a fabulous time. The cottage was perfect (the complimentary cake was welcome!), the location terrific. Jill went out of her way to find us touristy things to do, including learning to surf and slightly out of the way beaches. The wonderully warm pool (and jacuzzi!!!) was used at least two hours a day and in all, it was just the most heavenly start to the Summer. We wish we could have stayed longer but bribery didn't work... Oh well, we just have to book next year.

Room Tip: All are good I think. Some back on directly to the communal and games areas so may be more accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
What a glorious week of sunshine it was!

It's great to hear that the combination of cottage, our location (full of flora and fauna), warm swimming pool, lemon cake and sharing of our 'local gems' resulted in such a great holiday to start your Summer with.

We would have been delighted to have you stay a second week - bribery or not - but we were already booked up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in "Heron Cottage" for a week and to sum up the whole experience in a word we would say "fantastic".

To expand on that (as you, dear reader might want to know how we arrived at that word)...we are a couple with a young daughter (of 9 months). We have done a fair bit of travelling around the world but just love the west country. We were looking for somewhere that would be suitable and safe for a young baby with the home comforts and space for all the "essential" gear you seem to need when travelling with a baby. The space the cottages afford and the equipment provided are just great. Those little things that are so often overlooked in holiday accommodation have been remembered here - it really is like a home from home!

The facilities, grounds, countryside and everything are just fab. It was great to be able to have a cold drink or snack from the fridge if you fancied and pop some money in the honesty box and not have to worry about driving to the shops! Meals in the freezer? Genius! Film Library? Extensive! Coffee machine in the cotttage? A God-send ;-)

All in - we have recommended to friends and sung praises...we had such a good time we will defo be back to this great little gem. Thanks you guys for adding the extra value that turned a break away from home into a really great experience! xx

Love from the Herrons of Heron Cottage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hjt0101, Owner at Robin Hill Farm Cottages, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks so much for detailing the things that made your family holiday at Robin Hill Farm Cottages fantastic - it's great to hear that we measure up against your previous worldwide and UK travel experiences, and particularly now that you have a Herron 'chick' to cater for!

We aim to make is easier travelling with a baby by having the hardware essentials available and set up when you arrive (and included in the price!) as well as providing a home from home cottage.

We are so pleased you liked the honesty box (we believe in trust!) as well as meals from the freezer when you want them , the DVD selection and Nespresso Coffee machine too.

Thank you for sharing your secret - we really appreciate it and we'll look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
3.9 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
12.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
25.0 mi away
South Coombe Country Cottages
16.7 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hill Farm Cottages

Property: Robin Hill Farm Cottages
Address: Littleham, Bideford EX39 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bideford
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For all the family: You will find us at the end of a lane set above a stunning hidden North Devon valley. With heated indoor pool, hot tub, indoor and outdoors play, and 14 acres to roam. At Robin Hill Farm Cottages we have six character holiday cottages converted from former farm barns with exposed stone walls and beams. Our cottages sleep either four or six plus cot. Three are dog friendly. We have excellent all weather leisure facilities (heated indoor swimming pool, hot tub, chill out conservatory & sun deck, games room). PLUS 14 acres of wildlife and wild flower filled pasture and woodland to explore. Even though we're tucked away amongst green fields, it is only 4 miles to Westward Ho! Beach, The Big Sheep, South West Coast Path and Tarka Trail in Bideford. We're proud to have earned the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016 - two years in a row and look forward to welcoming you for a relaxing and energising North Devon holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robin Hill Farm Cottages Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing