We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cream Tea Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Velvet & Vanilla

Velvet & Vanilla
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Consistently delicious. Cosy & friendly independent cafe & bar, locally renowned for great tasting home-made food at reasonable prices. Open for breakfast, lunch, coffee & home-baked cakes, afternoon teas, evenings, private parties. A good range of traditional and contemporary dishes and a variety of tempting vegetarian options; sandwiches, jackets, soups, mezze & pizza etc. Fully licenced - great cocktails and sensibly selected wine list. Very child-friendly. Free wifi.
1 review
“Cream Tea Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Popped in for an afternoon Cream Tea and was rewarded with attentive service and a gorgeous homemade scone. I hear they're going to offer evening meals soon! Looking forward to that.

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A proper cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I visited Bideford on business. Having sorted that out we looked for a place to eat lunch and came upon V & V tucked away in a side street just off the Quay. The food was excellent as was the welcome and service. It is a small, but very comfortable cafe; however their menu is good and the scones are exceptional. Good food, good service, comfortable seats and tables, what else can I say but we wish them well and we will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Comsi167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Popped in for lunch, 2 adults and 2 children. Lovely little cafe, trendy shabby look with good music playing softly in background. Not cheaoest place to eat but worth every penny, especially when the kids afternoon tea arrived and the look on my girls faces! Pinched a bit of lemon drizzle cake from their selection which was also gorgeous. Would recommend if you like good food in a nice relaxed atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Premierinnking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe, superb scones, nice cuppa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

A tiny, intimate cafe with a small but appetising menu.

We attended for one thing only - a cream tea. Classic cup of tea with a moist, warm scone and enough cream and jam to sink a warship. Verdict - delicious.

At just £3.50, with fast but free wi-fi, this was the best value half-hour we've had in Devon.

Not around for long, but if we were we would have certainly returned to what is a very nice gaff indeed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annawaltzerpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely, simple cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great little place for a snack & drink. It's basic, so don't expect a restaurant menu. It's small, so be prepared to struggle if you're a large group.

I also think it's quite expensive, but probably on par for the area, given it's touristy location. I'd certainly expect to pay less around London.

Good overall, though, and friendly service. Worked well for a quick snack with the family.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velvet & Vanilla also viewed

 

Been to Velvet & Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing