We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace at last!”

Review of Three Owls Lodge

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Lounge Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Exterior
Lounge
Dining Area
Interior
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
En Suite
Bathroom
Penstowe Swimming Pool
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Surrounding Countryside
Approach To Lodge
Local Scenery
Local Residents
Surrounding Area
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Kitchen And Dining Area
Interior
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbi L
1 review
“Peace at last!”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had an amazing time in the Three Owls lodge during our stay over the Christmas and New Year period. Such a tranquil and peaceful place to be. A little too remote for some of us but overall a pleasure to stay. The lodge was very well kitted out with all of the mod cons (free standing freezer, dishwasher, microwave) and a great selection of games and dvd’s to keep the family occupied. We were presented with a welcome pack of tea, coffee and biscuits. These were well received after our journey! The lodge was very clean and well presented with linen and towels provided. A peaceful place for rest and relaxation. David was extremely helpful with any questions that we had prior to our arrival and communication was swift and polite. Would highly recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thanks for your kind comments Debbi . It was a pleasure to arrange your holiday .

For the benefit of future guests , I think it is true to say that the surroundings - Forestry Commission land and fields give a perception of remoteness but the local village is only 6 minutes away by car and the coastline / beaches only 15 minutes .

Best Wishes ,

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckie98...
1 review
“Great place, would return”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The lodge was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. It was more spacious than we expected and easily accommodated the 10 of us! (6 adults, 2 small children plus 2 dogs). The site is in a beautiful location and was very peaceful, we found lots to do in the area, a particular favourite was the gnome reserve only 20 mins away. We had one very rainy day, so used the pool at Penstowe, which was a great addition to the package. Communication with the owner was very efficient, we had all the information needed.
We would definitely consider returning there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thanks for your review Tracey .

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Peaceful location in the heart of Hartland forest.
Fully equipped lodge. Clean,tidy,well equipped and despite being in the middle of the forest close to all amenities and enjoyment for all ages.
Our son loved to fish for the huge carp in the local lakes free of charge and our beardie loved his varied walks.
Bude had something for everyone. Beautiful beaches where dogs were allowed and a canal where you could take a boat along. Lots of shops.
Tennis and a bowling green as well as mini golf.
Thankyou David for lending us your fabulous lodge for a week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
I'm glad you had a good holiday Helen . Thanks for your review .

David .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richm0nd2...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we needed....”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spent a week at 3 Owls in June 2017 and the whether was favourable.
The lodge is large, fully equipped and set in a quiet location overlooking the golf course.
There are no local onsite amenities but we knew this and so visited Bideford en route where you. An find most things.
The evenings we spent sat on the decking enjoying the sun and eating, you are not overlooked at all.
I would decibateky return to 3 Owls, we took our dog and 9 month old daughter and the lodge was perfect for us all.
Although the drive to the lodge gives the impression you are far away from the coast you are not...we enjoyed trips to Hartland Quay, Clovelly, Bude, Bideford, Northcott Mouth, Welcombe Mouth and Black Rock Beach all within 25 minutes...the lodge proved the perfect location to reach all.
David was a pleasure to book with and ensured we enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thanks for your comments Richard .

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return !

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N167ACste...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“We miss it already!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A lovely experience, we tend go abroad but this actually tops it at a fraction of the price! Great people to deal with and a perfect location. The children loved it too. Couldn't ask for anymore. Would love to visit again. :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thanks for your comments Steve . It was a pleasure to arrange your holiday . If you do revisit you will always be eligible for a 10% "Returning Guest" reduction on the advertised tariff . We offer this to all our guests .

Regards ,

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joel r
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic pet-friendly holiday at the Three Bears cottage. It is close to so many places to see. Our children had a great time swimming at the pool. The cottages are very nice inside. The fishing was quite fun also.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Thanks for the great rating Joel .

For info : Joel and his family stayed at both Three Bears' and Three Owls lodges . Although he has refers to Three Bears' here the review is actually for Three Owls !

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great place, very quiet and the owner extremely helpful. Would recommend to anyone for a nice quite getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing