We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from everyday life”
Review of Lundy Island

Lundy Island
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located off the coast of Devon, this granite outcrop lies between England and America and is famed for its marine reserve.
Old Cleeve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Escape from everyday life”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The memory of my first visit when I just 12 years old has stayed with me and I have loved islands ever since. Forty years on, I still love going back there and exploring Lundy, travelling there on the M.V. Oldenburg supplies ship which is all part of the adventure and enjoying breakfast on board. If you like peace and tranquillity, you'll love Lundy. Walk at a brisk pace and you'll be able to walk the whole island on a day trip and still have time to relax in the island pub. No roads on the island mean no traffic except for the odd tractor for farming or transporting goods.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    60
    13
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lundy Island”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After visiting Lundy Island for over 35 years the beauty and tranquillity never fails to inspire me each time I visit. Staying overnight on the Island gives you a real feeling of being away from the strains of mainland life. The best way by far to visit Lundy is to charter a boat like Lundy Castaway that runs from Appledore on the N Devon Coast. This boat will take you into all the small bays to enable you to see the wildlife that otherwise you simply would have missed. Puffins,seals and Dolphins were just a small part of our day trip that the crew of Lundy Castaway managed to show us. They then Landed us on the Island so we could take a well earned drink in the Marisco followed by some of the stunning walking that Lundy offers. Certainly a real day we will always remember.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peace and pure tranquility if the weather is OK”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My second stay in a year and it seems that you either 'get' Lundy or you don't and it wouldn't suit everyone. OK, so the accommodation is pretty basic, no roll top baths or duvets but what you get is the run of the most wonderful island which is accessible. No signs, saying no entry and no health and safety police around either so if you bring young children, they are totally your responsibility. Watching the puffins, razorbills and other seabirds on the cliffs, sitting in the warm sunshine and seeing no one at all, for me, must be one of life's true highlights. The shop and Tavern cater to most people's needs and tastes for a few days but if you want something special, bring it yourself along with your boots, waterproofs (just in case!). Be aware that you may be out of communication for the period of your stay and just be. I'll be back there as soon as I can

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judithe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All at sea”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've always wanted to go over to Lundy whenever we have been in Devon , so this time we booked the trip before arriving. The down side was that the trip was from Ilfracombe, not Bideford which meant a car trip to start, however it did give the chance to view Damien Hirst's Verity up close on the harbour. .A moderate crossing can be a challenge so best to check the forecast the day before booking or take some seasick pills if not a good traveller. The trip took less than 2 hours which gave 4 hours to explore the island. A steep ascent is the first thing encountered to get off the dockside so walking boots recommended. There is a pub and shop, but these will be busy with the influx of 150+ souls, so we took a packed lunch and sat by a sheltered wall watching the wildlife display of seals and birds.

Oh and the toilets are a bit alfresco for men.

Keep an eye on the time if a day visitor as 4 hours soon passes as there is a lot to see. Excellent view from the old light if you can climb the stairs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a surprise break with family and friends given to me for a milestone birthday. As the winds were strong and easterly the boat couldn't be used and so we went across by helicopter. As others have said it is quite a long trip this way but if you look upon this as a bit of an adventure (we never have gone on a holiday coach before!) its a long trip this way as the coach has to go to the shortest crossing point first and the helicopter only holds 4 people.
As the road was closed our coach driver had to take a detour through narrow lanes and over bridges which we just squeezed through....great fun!
One lucky member (me!) of each flight gets to sit in the co pilots seat and have a great view of the Island.
What sets Lundy apart from other islands of the UK? It is small 3.5miles by 0.5 miles but high out of the waters of the Bristol Channel. The buildings have been either restored where they can offer accommodation or left as ruins (battery cottages/old hospital/cottages etc) which is interesting as were the remains of the 2 heinkel aircraft on the island. We were with a toddler who loved the animals... deer sheep highland cattle pigs and chickens...and we adults we kept busy looking out for puffins seals and other bird life.
We stayed in Bramles which is located in a little (normally) sheltered valley down from the main buildings and had a resident blackbird tapping on the window in the mornings as our alarm clock!
Accomodation perfectly OK once we had mastered the workings of the night storage heaters and boosted the heat by using the stove as it was very cold outside for the first few days.
Staff on the island are excellent and very friendly as was everyone else we met on the Island. Limited mobile and email access which we found quite nice after the first day!
Have fun there and as they say leave only your footprints!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank paulw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lundy Island also viewed

 

Been to Lundy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing