We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lundy Island

Lundy Island
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located off the coast of Devon, this granite outcrop lies between England and America and is famed for its marine reserve.
North Devon, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been over to Lundy quite a few times, and it always enchants me. I endorse all the other reviews, but would add a couple of points.

Lundy stands in the middle of a Marine Reserve, and the diving around the island is superb. Numerous wrecks in various states, and the famous H.M.S. Montague off the southern shore. Lobsters abound in the protected waters, and seals often play hide and seek with scuba divers. I won't go into ways to access diving on this site, because divers will know how are where to find out relevant information.

My other point is the looming dread of the Atlantic Array. It is proposed to build an enormous field of the worlds largest wind turbines to the west of the island. The planners appear to think that, being offshore, and hidden behind Lundy, no one will mind or object! The westerly views from the island will, of course, be ruined, but after all, it's in the interests of "progress". It is most interesting to note that these highly inefficient (but highly subsidised) turbines are being deployed in one of the worlds ideal locations for wave and tidal energy.....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ever_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    57
    12
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great experience to go to Lundy. recommend staying over. Pub has a lovely atmosphere and all the Island staff are very welcoming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank biffa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Simply the most amazing place to visit in the SouthWest. Tranquil, Solitude, Breathtaking. Any number of other words I could use to describe Lundy. Would love to stay overnight to experince seeing the ferry leave me behind.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamkDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finally made it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

For nearly thirty years I have taken my holidays in North Devon and finally made a trip to Lundy Island.

Quick tip - when you get off the boat - as long as it is not too wet, don't follow everyone up the hill towards the main route take a right along the coastal path through a little gate. Better views around this side of the island. Then you can leave the steep, very steep climb to come down instead.

Make sure you take binoculars for the seals that you might catch a glimpse of. And of course your camera. Lots of fauna and flora depending on what time of the year you go.

Final tip as has been said before, sit on the outside of the boat as the fumes are quite strong on the inside and it can be a bit of a bumpy ride until you get over the Bar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Ildi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Isolated perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This truly is a unique location.

You arrive by boat or helicopter.

If travelling on HMS Oldenburg be careful if sitting underneath in the bottom of the ship, as myself and the others I was travelling with felt very sea sick. If was fine on the return journey as we sat above deck.

You're not confined to fixed seats. You can sit / stand where you wish.

Approaching the Island feels like a scene out of King Kong / Jurassic park. The Island itself is surrounded by cliffs and very imposing.

The walk up from the boat is long and very hill. I would recommend good sturdy foot wear (this is from someone who can walk all day in a pair of Fred Perry plimsolls, they just wouldn't cut it here). If you choose flip flips then there is no point you even attempting to reach the top where the pub / shop / start of Lundy is.

When you reach the top, you have the shop/s, and pub / restaurant and various old buildings. Walk from there in any direction and you'll be greeted by epic sea views.

Soon as you've walked for five minutes from the main settlement area you feel alone. It really is a secluded place. The only vehicles are the Lundy owned range rovers that ferry the supplies around.


Virtually the whole perimeter of Lundy is unguarded cliff drops so be careful.

There is various wildlife on the Island, from Puffins, to Seals, to Lundy Lamb and Horses.

A definite 'to do' is visit the lighthouse and climb to the top. It gets hot as the top is completely encased in glass, but the views are nothing short of spectacular.

To catch the boat back, you will not have enough time to explore the whole Island. If you walk at a fair pace you can probably reach the half way point and still get back in time for the boats departure.

A one day taster here is likely to leave you wanting to return for a longer explore.

Please see attached images.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lundy Island also viewed

 

Been to Lundy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing