We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tradictional pub”

The Coach and Horses
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Coach & Horses Inn at Buckland Brewer in North Devon is set amongst the beautiful Devon countryside, with Exmoor on one side, Dartmoor the other and the lovely sandy beaches of the North Devon coast within a few minutes drive. The ideal location for a perfect traditional free house.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great tradictional pub”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice thatched pub,Food Is good, wide choice including vegetarian , good selection of local beers and ciders , friendly staff, be sure to book as it gets very busy especially at weekends in summer

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    46
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cracking country pub!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited with my family and girlfriend on a rainy Sunday and it couldn't have raised our spirits more!

This isn't meant to be gourmet dining, it is an English country pub and the food follows suit - it is perfect. Great beer too.

Will be going back next time we're in north Devon. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quaint doesn't have to be grubby!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited with my wife on the recommendation of the hotel we were staying at. My wife had the salmon and I had fish and chips. Both were excellent and represented good value. However I feel that the Coach and Horses is falling into the trap that grubby round the edges is fine if you interpret it as old and quaint, which without doubt the Coach and Horses is. This is a beautiful pub in the middle of nowhere. It is busy with lots of locals and tourists. There is a great atmosphere that would not be destroyed by a little renewal and upgrading here and there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Designerman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub and superb food.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here 3 times in May 2013. Each time the food was excellent. There is a menu which always has lighter meals, steaks and curries etc. but they also have a specials board which consists of about 9 main courses which change regularly. One evening I had the chicken gougons with parmesan and herb crust - it was fantastic - so good in fact that I requested it again even though it wasn't on the menu and they obliged. All the dishes come with a choice of 4 potatoes and either salad or vegetables. For two main courses, 2 desserts and a glass of wine and a pint of shandy the bill came to £36. This is excellent value and all served with a smile from young waitresses who are keen to please. This pub is very old with low ceilings and a log fire when needed and frequented by local people which is always a good sign. You simply can't go wrong visiting here and I just wish it was closer to home. Thanks to Oliver and his staff for some great meals. Wish it was closer to home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beefjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver W, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting us so many times during your recent visit to North Devon and for your very positive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the Coach and Horses and very much hope to welcome you back in the future - Best regards, Oliver and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff and lovely food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were staying in a cottage locally and decided to try this pub for dinner, we were not disappointed. There is a small car park behind the pub and also plenty of street parking. The pub had a nice atmosphere as we walked in and we were welcomed warmly. We were seated straight away and we advised that it was busy and that there may be a bit of a wait for food, if there was we did not notice, the service was superb and the home cooked meals were lovely, portions very generous. We are both vegetarian and managed to find three lovely courses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0andJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver W, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Coach and Horses and very much hope to welcome you back in the near future - Best regards, Oliver and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing