We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the durrant house hotel the staff were brilliant the food was great I would definitely recommend it. Situated between two great beaches. The rooms we had looked out onto the river and the pool ( it should be heated because it's outside) was going to go for a dip but was very cold. Going to go again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 743 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Paid reasonable price for b&b. Room had en suite bathroom. Tv. Iron and board handy as I was going out for eve with old school friends. There for one night. Only one negative _ bacon at breakfast not nice. Would I stay here again? Yes. Convenient for me for night out in Westward Ho. Quiet room with usual facilities. Price made this good value at 50pounds for b&b

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lawsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Durrant House Hotel is a pleasant enough place. It is clearly geared to the holiday traveller - the notices announcing nightly entertainments and the ice-cream selection by the reception desk gives this away!. In Bideford for just the weekend, we were more interested in some peace and quiet and a good nights sleep. Our room was attractively decorated and clean. The bathroom is large with a walk in shower that delivered lots of hot water at a reasonable pressure. Soap and shampoo were the usual hotel brand, towels large enough and reasonably fluffy. The decor is on the verge of looking dated and a little dowdy and will need some deep cleaning before too much longer - to brighten up the grouting and clean into the corners etc but to point this out could be considered picky! It is not the hotel's fault that we stayed in a heat wave but this meant the room was incredibly stuffy and warm. The windows are the sort that tilt to open at the top and don't fully open but a fan was provided and by leaving the fan on, the curtains open and occasional applications of a damp towel, we managed to get some sleep.
There is an outdoor pool - we did not have time to try this but it looked nice enough. The spa is clearly popular as we tried to book a massage when we arrived on Friday and were unable to do so as they were fully booked. Note to self to be more organised in future!
Breakfast was good; hot dishes delivered rapidly from the kitchen ( I suspect not cooked to order but rather plated to order) were good quality and tasty. Cereal, toast etc were on a help yourself buffet and most importantly, coffee was a decent brew in a cafetiere. I'm told the tea was not great but this may be the difference between our usual hard water brew at home and the soft water in this area.
Staff were pleasant and welcoming. The public spaces very pleasant, mostly occupied by guests on their computers. It was a mild annoyance to find wifi in only the lobby rather than in our room however, it was a weekend away from work! On arrival, there was plenty of parking in the hotel's surrounds but on the Saturday it was very limited as there was a large function underway. Despite the people attending a bash where it appeared there was some sort of musical entertainment, we were not disturbed by any of this and enjoyed a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I took my daughter to this Hotel as she has nit been well. The staff were simply amazing. Nothing was to much trouble for them.
They gave my daughter an upgraded room that was a real bonus for her.

Breakfast was cooked to order and food in the Restaurant very good also,

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Weymouth Russell Hotel
Departed 18th July

Coach
The best part of this trip was having an exceptional driver, (Mike of Meredith's)
Nothing was too much trouble for him to make sure we got the best out of each trip.

He always 'cased' each place by coach to find the best 'drop of point' for us and only dropping us at a coach park if it was near to the centre or attraction.

For example in Dorchester on Sunday we saw by this 'cruise around' that there was nothing open to make it worth stopping.
By common agreement he took us back to Weymouth dropping us at he top of the town for free time. This turned out to be a very good choice.

On the trip to Poole he added a cruise past Sandbanks millionaires row and a return via Studland and the chain ferry.

We would be much more inclined to book another trip if we knew Mike would be at the wheel.
Hotel
This is a 2 star hotel and that must be taken into account, together with the very low charge for this trip.
It was clean and the food at least up to and maybe even beyond the standard one could expect.
Service was fast and friendly.
The manager greeted us warmly.
Entertainment every night for those who wanted it,

The reviews of this hotel often speak of it being 'tired' and this is the case with the maintenance of the building and services. Our room (16) was spacious with a king size bed and was very clean. However the toilet seat was only fastened down on one side although to be fair this was rectified on the last day WITHOUT us pointing it out.
Hot water tap was loose and turned which could lead to a flood in the future. One of the French windows could not be closed but in the current heat wave that was not problem
I think this review would have been very different had we had a room on the top floor.
Dining room and bar are both in the basement, very hot and stuffy. The sister hotel The Prince Regent appeared to be much better although no doubt more expensive a choice would be good with a sur-charge
Trips
Day One Windborne Minster and Poole,
Well worth seeing but I suggest you make Sandbank and the chain ferry part of the trip in future.
Day Two Portland Bill, West Bay and Dorchester
Portland Bill was very interesting, could have done with more time there and maybe in the afternoon to sample the famous cream tea in the nearby cliff top cafe.
West Bay was interesting and I could well take a self catering cottage there but not enough to see or do for the amount of time we spent there. we passed a swannary on the way there, I wonder if that could have been a added attraction?
Dorchester appeared a mismatch of buildings sprawled out over a large area. I would never choose to go there.

Room Tip: Maake sure you get big window(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my mum for a short break. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was well appointed, the restaurant was great & tea & cake in the afternoon was excellent! We really enjoyed our stay. Every member of staff that we met was courteous and nothing was too much h trouble.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank sdon382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A lovely hotel, in need of a little refurbishment in areas but our room was good and we enjoyed the stay. The food was good and the menu varied. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,796 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $97 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing