We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAJESTIC SELF DRIVE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“MAJESTIC SELF DRIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

having been a coach driver iam on majestic tours website.lisa came up with there self drive trips;having looked at the time of year we wanted a break I booked a 4 night break on the 23d june.we travelled up from Exeter,arrived at 2 30;we only had to wait a short time to be told we could go up to our SUPERIOUR room on the first floor which overlooked the front car park and fields.the room was lovely and the bathroom was very good with bath/shower.we had our meals downstairs with a coach party and other self drive clients.meal was set at 6 30 and breakfast at 8 30.you have 3 courses with a good variety;the service was excellent and food was DELICIOUS as was the breakfast.you could stay downstairs for the entertainment or sit upstairs in the bar or in lounge.the hotel is in a good position for touring with a bus stop outside with very good service.this was our second visit and it will not be our last.we had 2 lovely couples on our table which made meal times a joy!!.our only slight query was we sometimes felt the waiters/waitreses were hanging around to clear the tables.otherwise a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    199
    133
    69
    78
See reviews for
98
303
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Durante hotel should be a four star hotel. Stayed four a couple days we loved it here, come from London they are so friendly clean. The food out of this world. My son loved the stay and the food outstanding. We come down so my son via meet he's Freind. The weekend was the best. You guys made out weekend. Fantastic stay. This hotel should be four star outstanding

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Fabulous 4 night in June. So easy for our check in, reception so helpful and more importantly full of smiles. Room on the first floor was great, we had good house keeping every day plus breakfast was all that was needed, before we explored the surrounding areas. We took the coast path walk to Appledore. Plus Bideford is only 20 mins walk or catch the bus outside.
Evening meal hot and plenty of choices, staff again could not do enough for us. Will def come back again with friends. No complains lovely Hotel, car parking excellent.

Room Tip: room 142 great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel advertises to have wheelchair access, this could be no further from the truth!
We emailed before to double-check access and got a confirmation from the manager. When we got into the room we discovered the bathroom was so small you could't even get through the door! The manager then tried to put us in the conference room, which had no beds or any furniture. What it did have however was pigeon droppings all through the room and bathroom! Both rooms smelled and had mould around the windows.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

the front of house staff & restaurant staff are very good but the house keeping takes a lot to be
dessiered I was first given what they called the cottage room but to get in I had to go up some very steep staires but once I had said it was not suitable there was no problem in getting
another place T he curtains are not very clean also it sounded like all the floor boards in the
room above were loose by the noise coming from there I was in room 121 so avoied that
room if possible The lift is on the very slow side

Room Tip: avoid room 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegordon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The lobby area of the hotel is spacious, but has an old fashioned feel about it. There is a small pool with (I assume) fish in it also. Car Park is large. Room I had was fine for a short stay (stayed one night), but it is a dated property. The bathroom looked as if it had had some work done, but the finish was shoddy. The walk to the room was slightly strange, passing in the corridor area a pool table and an iron / ironing board that appeared to be built into the corridor wall!
Unfortunately breakfast was a let-down, not so much for the food, but for the service. I had coffee and helped myself to cereal etc, but after waiting 15mins for someone to come and ask if I wanted anything cooked, I gave up and left.
Reception staff were very good and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night as a stop over for a business meeting and although the staff were all lovely there didn't seem to be enough of them ! We booked a table for dinner when we arrived and went to our room via a weird room / hall walk through with a pool table and a ironing board and iron. The room was ok ish with a huge glass wash basin that seemed to take over the bathroom and a TV that we couldn't get to work. When we went to the restaurant for dinner no staff were present and when someone did appear we weren't booked in but the service was very good after that. Breakfast was faultless. It's a lovely hotel but everything just looked and felt very tired.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing