We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly this review doesn't make good reading” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Essex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sadly this review doesn't make good reading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a difficult review to write, if you are intending to stay here as part of a coach trip and to pay only £45 then you will probably be satisfied. However, if you are an independent traveller and trying to find somewhere to stay on spec then our advice would be to give this hotel a miss and drive on to another one in the area. Unless, that is, you are prepared to put up with very dodgy outdated décor, carpet that is torn and taped up, paintwork that is scuffed and damaged, glum, dark and spooky rooms, very squeaky floorboards, grand staircases that lead nowhere, mediocre to poor food, no toast at breakfast and a considerably bigger bill than £45. The hotel is run down (take the green swimming pool as an example) and is in desperate need of a full refurbishment and makeover. Even the wording of the hotel information booklet is terse, out-of-date and unfriendly eg no lost property department. When we arrived there were only a few rooms available and we plumped for a high-end expensive one, it was a mistake and that is our fault we should have got back in the car and driven on. The only saving grace of this establishment is the staff, all of whom are friendly and helpful - in what must be difficult circumstances for them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2JsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    199
    133
    69
    78
See reviews for
98
303
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We got a good deal last minute through booking.com. for room and breakfast

The hotel definitely shows its age but if you don't go expecting luxury you won't be disappointed. The room was adequate, bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of an organised Ballroom Dancing weekend. We had stayed at this same hotel in 2011 for the same type of weekend. The room (No. 144) was comfortable and clean and they have made some improvements to the quality of bathrooms since or last visit. The group ate in the Olive Tree restaurant which is wood panelled and personally we felt was quite dark and oppressive, but friends with us said that they felt it was cosy and charming, so I guess it's down to what you like in décor. ;-)
The staff in both reception and restaurant were friendly and helpful. The food was served efficiently and hot but sometimes lacked flavour (e.g. scrambled eggs at breakfast looked very well cooked but tasted completely bland because no seasoning had been added and a roast pork meal in the evening was very fatty).
There was some work being done on the outside walls of the hotel which will smarten up the overall look of the place. We noticed that the outside swimming pool is currently not in use and full of very green water .. not at all what it looks like when getting pictures from the internet for this hotel.
We spent most of our time in the large ballroom downstairs, which is a lovely room, however we were disappointed with the quality of the toilets available in this area and in fact the gents facilities were very unpleasant to use due to the very strong bad smell they had in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked 2 nights here at last minute in order to visit sick friend.don't think there's been much improvement since i was here around 15 years ago . The entire place is very dated and dull, with the exception of the bathroom I had which had been refurbed , apart from 4 holes in the bath where the old handles had been. I had a single room with an exceptionally large TV standing on the dressing table in place of the mirror, no access to a mirror when using the hairdryer !
SLEEP, what's that ?, I complained on both mornings about the noise which woke me, only to be told on the second morning that there were loose tiles on the roof and the wind was blowing them !!! .no hotel information in the room.
Breakfast was adequate but could do with better presentation and cooking, my coked food was bought before I had anywhere near finished my cereals and on day one all the toasters fused.
Ah well any port in a storm, certainly not worth the £45 a night.
Departure time was 10.00 but they knocked my door and walked straight in at 09.10

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were a couple and part of a 38 strong coach party - the price we paid for 3 nights DBB was excellent value.Evening meals were fairly basic but aimed at pleasing most of the people I guess. Breakfast OK but not enough cold choice for those not wanting hot cooked food.
Room was spacious, well appointed and with 3 twin beds. Only a couple of minor complaints - strip light over bathroom mirror not working; reported first morning and fixed during day. No shelf for cosmetics etc in bathroom; was a little awkward but made do. Very good value; staff friendly and attentive. Good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 7-11 October 2013. The trip was organised by the coach operator GB Tours. It was our first such holiday and our first visit to this hotel and to Bideford itself. Having read reviews about the hotel prior to our visit, we were a little sceptical about what to expect. It's fair to say, however, that we were very pleasantly surprised. There were other coach parties staying there at the same time and so we had both our breakfast and evening dinner together in the ballroom. The staff were very well organised and efficient, the food was hot and of a good standard when served to our tables. We stayed in room 236 on the second floor. It was a twin room with a sofa. To our surprise some other members of our party had jacuzzis in their bathrooms! However, we were more than happy with our room.
Based on our experience we think that this hotel fully merits its three star rating. All in all we would like to thank the tour company, our coach driver Colin and the hotel staff for a lovely break.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on a higher floor and were not disappointed. However, some guests were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a large hotel, very friendly staff, pleasant clean rooms and reasonably priced food in the bar. I was very happy with the hotel.
The room I had, did have a bath and the bottom was spotted with what appeared to be rust.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing