We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach trippers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Coach trippers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A four night stay on organised coach holiday, reception on arrival was good and efficient. Rooms fairly average but quite dark with dark dated furnishings... however clean. One annoyance... was the fact that the light could not be turned out without getting out of bed !!!? There was a huge padded headboard that meant the light switch was not within reach and no bedside lamp ?

Meals for us were organised in a very regulated fashion in the " ballroom ", whilst you did get a feeling of "them and us "compared with the a'la carte guests.

The majority of meals were quite acceptable and varied served by very nice young but rather serious students from various parts of Europe.

On checking out, we were pretty much ignored...."A safe journey home" or "hope you have enjoyed your stay " would have been nice.......or even eye contact ?

Location gives nice views but quite a way out of town if you don't have your own transport.

Room Tip: The rear rooms have great views of countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    200
    134
    70
    79
See reviews for
100
307
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My son and I were in Devon decorating our holiday chalet, and rather than break to make tea, we decided to visit Durrant House for the £7.50 special. All I can say is "Why haven't we been here before?". The food was excellent, with a main course and dessert all for £7.50, making a meal for two including drinks less than £18!!! We had as much attention from the staff as if we had been paying £25 each. A very pleasurable experience that we enjoyed so much that we visited on the other two nights of out time in Devon too. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
We also had a sneaky peek round the hotel, which was fantastic, with a wonderful spiral staircase and a courtyard with a fountain. If we did not have our own holiday property I would seriously consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were dreading our visit to the Durrant House, especially as we were parking up our more than adequate motorhome in their car park (we were at Balbreak: a series of dance workshops over a weekend) based on some of the reports here... but all in all good value for money, decent quality of food, helpful staff...OK some of the hotel are a little jaded, and our shower rail was just managing to hold to the wall, but more than acceptable....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently visited this Hotel on a Coach trip in August and I have to say I am baffled by the really poor reviews on this Hotel .Okay it is not the lap of Luxury but you are not paying for that , the staff are helpful and I have to say it's some of the best food I have had at a Hotel on and organised trip.It's location is good and there is a Bus stop right outsde to get into Bideford , I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOBETOTTER-GAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Well sized room with king size bed, 2 seater sofa and a coffee table. For the most part, very well appointed, but a few DIY looking bodges bring the general look down.

The outdoor pool area looks nice, but didnt fancy the walk across the car park to get to it.

Good value as we booked very early, £50/night for a double room.

Staffing is way too low in numbers and having to wait nearly an hour for food as they were busy is not an acceptable excuse.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BagpussBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whole family stayed so we had 4 rooms all doubles, husband and I got upgraded to premium room as principal guests on booking, which was nice. General impression was that was once a much higher standard hotel but has lacked investment in recent years and as a result was a bit tired in places and refurbs done were not of a good standard with frames left unpainted and in 3 of the rooms the grab handles on the sides of the baths had been removed at some point and just left so had unappealing rusty holes in them and a couple of the rooms had makeshift closers bolted onto frames so windows would stay shut, that said it was clean throughout and I didn't feel uncomfortable. It was very busy with a lot of senior citizens in residence embarking onto coaches in the morning with their cases, on two occasions the coach parked to get everyone on board right in front if the entrance/exit meaning guests trying to leave in their cars had to wait over 40 minutes! Not good. Service was not good at times and having waited over 45 minutes from ordering, to receive our starters, on asking where they were, we were told "we are very busy" I understood that but it had definite irritation in the tone and my thought, not a reasonable excuse - get more staff! When our main courses arrived they were dry and crisped where they had been kept warm the cabbage was burnt underneath! Not good. Breakfast was better and enjoyable
although one waitress was very surly telling my daughter, who had asked for scrambled egg on toast that she would have to get her own toast from the buffet table as they were too busy to do that ! That's fine happy to do it but the previous day they had bought her the same breakfast assembled, not as a do it yourself kit! And that's fine but she didn't need the surly tone
from the waitress, I was annoyed by that!

Has an outdoor pool but it isn't heated so very cold!

Probably wouldn't stay there again but only because it was not in a great location for beach or town (not a lot if shop choice in town either) and it was so busy the staff couldn't cope.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

we were just here for one night but would stay again. the rooms were clean and big enough for a one night stay. this is a lovely oak panelled hotel inside the dining room and (we had a peek) ballroom were beautiful. the hotel needs a bit of a paint from the outside and the rooms furniture was a bit shabby but looking past that it was a reasonable price for all this. the breakfast was very good. there was a wedding on the night we stayed and we just about got parked coming back after the evening out at around 9 pm. even though the wedding party was in full swing it could not be heard from our room. ( not sure about all the rooms though) my other half is 6 foot and had an issue with the shower as it is not very large and has a large fixed head , so he could not move out of the shower spray at all without the water flooding the bathroom , which is beatifully fitted.
worth the price to stay and near appledore, westward Ho, and bideford.

Room Tip: if there is a function on try not to have a back bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing