We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently visited this Hotel on a Coach trip in August and I have to say I am baffled by the really poor reviews on this Hotel .Okay it is not the lap of Luxury but you are not paying for that , the staff are helpful and I have to say it's some of the best food I have had at a Hotel on and organised trip.It's location is good and there is a Bus stop right outsde to get into Bideford , I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOBETOTTER-GAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    199
    133
    69
    78
See reviews for
98
303
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Well sized room with king size bed, 2 seater sofa and a coffee table. For the most part, very well appointed, but a few DIY looking bodges bring the general look down.

The outdoor pool area looks nice, but didnt fancy the walk across the car park to get to it.

Good value as we booked very early, £50/night for a double room.

Staffing is way too low in numbers and having to wait nearly an hour for food as they were busy is not an acceptable excuse.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BagpussBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whole family stayed so we had 4 rooms all doubles, husband and I got upgraded to premium room as principal guests on booking, which was nice. General impression was that was once a much higher standard hotel but has lacked investment in recent years and as a result was a bit tired in places and refurbs done were not of a good standard with frames left unpainted and in 3 of the rooms the grab handles on the sides of the baths had been removed at some point and just left so had unappealing rusty holes in them and a couple of the rooms had makeshift closers bolted onto frames so windows would stay shut, that said it was clean throughout and I didn't feel uncomfortable. It was very busy with a lot of senior citizens in residence embarking onto coaches in the morning with their cases, on two occasions the coach parked to get everyone on board right in front if the entrance/exit meaning guests trying to leave in their cars had to wait over 40 minutes! Not good. Service was not good at times and having waited over 45 minutes from ordering, to receive our starters, on asking where they were, we were told "we are very busy" I understood that but it had definite irritation in the tone and my thought, not a reasonable excuse - get more staff! When our main courses arrived they were dry and crisped where they had been kept warm the cabbage was burnt underneath! Not good. Breakfast was better and enjoyable
although one waitress was very surly telling my daughter, who had asked for scrambled egg on toast that she would have to get her own toast from the buffet table as they were too busy to do that ! That's fine happy to do it but the previous day they had bought her the same breakfast assembled, not as a do it yourself kit! And that's fine but she didn't need the surly tone
from the waitress, I was annoyed by that!

Has an outdoor pool but it isn't heated so very cold!

Probably wouldn't stay there again but only because it was not in a great location for beach or town (not a lot if shop choice in town either) and it was so busy the staff couldn't cope.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

we were just here for one night but would stay again. the rooms were clean and big enough for a one night stay. this is a lovely oak panelled hotel inside the dining room and (we had a peek) ballroom were beautiful. the hotel needs a bit of a paint from the outside and the rooms furniture was a bit shabby but looking past that it was a reasonable price for all this. the breakfast was very good. there was a wedding on the night we stayed and we just about got parked coming back after the evening out at around 9 pm. even though the wedding party was in full swing it could not be heard from our room. ( not sure about all the rooms though) my other half is 6 foot and had an issue with the shower as it is not very large and has a large fixed head , so he could not move out of the shower spray at all without the water flooding the bathroom , which is beatifully fitted.
worth the price to stay and near appledore, westward Ho, and bideford.

Room Tip: if there is a function on try not to have a back bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I know that this hotel thinks that it knows its market and has no reason to change. That is literally, their business, but we are unlikely to visit again even if in the area, staff almost entirely east european and do their best, but this is a hotel firmly stuck in the 70s. Food is cheap and filling, but fairly dire. Rooms are i suppose ok for the price but shabby and a bit smelly.
An indication of the mindset is a notice stuck with sellotape on the drinks machine in the lobby stating that 'sanitary towels, tampons and anadin extra can be purchased at reception.
The person who designed the website did a great job, but do not expect the hotel to be anything like it is portrayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CambridgeDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Our en-suite room was lovely, very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The food was always very hot and varied. However, the Chef should remember that guests having fish should also have vegetables suitable for that meal. Fish eaters on one evening had sprouts, roast potatoes and swede to go with their cod and parsley sauce! We would certainly have no hesitation in visiting the Durrant House Hotel again.

Molly and Roger Fixter, Boston, Lincs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner booked a romantic break away the weekend of he 16th & 17th August 13 of what was supposedly to be a luxury relaxing weekend in the Appledore Suite, for £225 a night bed and breakfast, as per the advertising on their own website promising : white fluffy towels, and oversized shower, a view, Jacuzzi, etc

Greeted by a rude receptionist
On arrival the room was not ready even though after 2pm the check in time
On entering the room it was very dark, due to only 2 light bulbs working
Net curtains and frilly old fashioned curtains with tie backs and pelmets ..... poor quality also
The furniture very tired, shabby and felt dirty
The bath plughole was dirty and blocked with hair
The bath had a very large hair in it
The Jacuzzi bath in the lounge area had a scum line around it
The "white fluffy towels" as per the description were dirty and grey
The tiles in the bathroom are cracked and worn
The view for the amount of monies being paid were of a skip and old rubbish
The room had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly as there were trainers in one of the cupboards
Wires exposed and not what should of been visual for a room of this price
There was NO "oversized double shower" as per the description
The sheets were old and grey
No wall mounted TV's, they were on wooden shelves
No information on the hotel in the room
Plastic cups
The room was dark, dingy and smelt of damp
Outdoor swimming pool was worn and not fit for ducks let alone persons

This was definitely not the "height of luxury" as advertised and what we would of expected for the amount of monies per night paid.
Also the full monies had to be paid on arrival for the two nights and monies put on our account to cover drinks and food etc, making the hotel presume their guests are not trustworthy,

On complaining the Assistant Manager refunded us one nights accommodation but refused to accept that the room is overpriced for what it is offering and the misrepresentation of their website and again would not take responsibility for the fact the room as also dirty.
This was not the weekend of pampering and luxury we expected and the hotel really needs to re-evaluate their room price in all as a professional traveller this should be priced at £35.00 per night.

Room Tip: Over priced and their website needs adjusting to tell the truth ...... do not stay here it is in nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing