We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over for the night etc”
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice, good service & the food was ok. The only thing I would say that it was cold down in the dinning room and the front reception area. But the rooms are nice and warm though. There are things to do in the area like Atlantic Shopping Village, Barnstable is very close nice shopping town etc There are many little places and country villages to visit and lots offering cream tea's etc

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingcruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Durrant House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 736 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited this hotel in previous years for Rock and Roll dance weekends, and this trip was every bit as good. In fact we think the standard of the food was even better than our other stays. The evening meals were of a very high standard, and by choosing your menu in the morning, it mean't that everybody on the same table received their food at the same time and it was very hot. Breakfasts were not quite as good, and a little bit more of a variety would have been gone down well. There were cereals and full English, but I felt a yoghurt and some fresh fruit would have been more acceptable to people who do not like a cooked breakfast. All staff were very good, and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were spotless and I particularly liked having plenty of tea, coffee, an iron and ironing board, toiletries and an electric fan, although we didn't use it. There was plenty of parking for all cars, even on a busy weekend. The hotel is a bit out of Bideford town, but the bus stops right outside the hotel, and it provides a frequent service. Free WiFi is also another big plus. No problems with going to this hotel again. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherryannreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our sons booked a two-night dance break at this hotel for my husband's seventieth birthday. We arrived early but were allowed to check in straightaway. Our room was very pleasant and overlooked the outdoor swimming pool. The bathroom was clean (with bath and a shower) but had a rather ridiculous glass sink with a cupboard underneath that took up a lot of room but served very little purpose.

The hotel in general was very well appointed. We had to choose our evening meals at breakfast, which we did not like. I think this was down to the dance master who organised the dance break, NOT THE HOTEL. The food was well cooked and well presented and the service was good.

The down side for us was the position of the hotel - quite a way out of the town centre, which meant a walk along a busy, boring road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BallLatSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First impressions - good parking and large, welcoming entrance vestibule. However closer inspection of the outside revealed much in need of renovation and repair. Deceiving entrance because once inside it was like Waterloo Station with what seemed like hundreds of people just milling around the small reception area with dozens of abandoned suitcases tagged with different coloured labels. Enquiries revealed that this is a hotel primarily used by coach tours. Checking in or accessing the rooms involves negotiating an obstacle course of bodies and baggage. People just seem to hang around all day blocking reception, the entrance to the bar, restaurant and stairs up down to the rooms. At certain times of the day negotiating the stairs involves passing through an unpleasant aroma of stale cooking smells.

I have no objections whatsoever to coach parties but the sheer number of such clients using this hotel, warrants their own designated checking-in/out area.

The rooms themselves, for the price were acceptable but the bathroom was abysmal. Although there had obviously been an attempt to modernise this, the taps were not secure and almost came detached on use and the shower water temperature control had a mind of its own. The promised room WiFi was not working and the WiFi in the common areas seemed almost weather dependent!

The food in the bar was not great but eatable but the service was snail's pace because service of the meal required the bartender to leave the bar unattended to go to the kitchen to collect the order. If he was serving a bar customer, the food had to wait. Staff attitude could do with a little polish.

The one high spot of the stay was the breakfast -included in the room rate - which was excellent, a full English or any of its variations cooked to order. Minor breakfast gripe - a little fresh fruit would be a nice addition.

All in all, i think I would only choose the Durrant again if I needed to stay in Bideford and everywhere else was full.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KazValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Appearance of being newly refurbished the bedrooms are adequate rather than sumptuous but the food in the restaurant is more than adequate. Well cooked, generous portions with wine prices not out of the way. The bar offers one real ale and prices for a whiskey and lemonade and a pint of real ale was £6.80.

The staff are a mixture of Eastern European with a sprinkling of Irish for flavour but always ready to give assistance and cheerful with it.

We took advantage of a four day break with Majestic at the too good to miss price of £219 for four nights, Monday through Friday, for the two of us in a King Sized bed with a walk in shower. Definitely better than doing the washing up at home!

Room Tip: Room 65 is the one we had - it's on the ground floor with a bit of a route march to get to the e...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just back from another stay at the Durrant hotel, this will be our third visit and it just gets better, the food, staff, and rooms are all very good they can't do enough to help make your stay pleasant, nothing is to much trouble for them whatever your needs, we are looking forward to another visit next year or sooner, thanks again to the staff

Room Tip: Any room at the Durrant will be ok but you could ask for one overlooking the river
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have just spent a weekend here. Good food and accomodation and very helpful staff. Situated in the pretty place of Bideford which is a beautiful area of Devon. Have visited this hotel at least four times and as always enjoy staying in this lovely old house with a character of its own. Will visit again

Room Tip: If possible overlooking the garden in centre of hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $97 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing