We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Christmas Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Durrant over Christmaswith Angela Holidays. It was our 4th visit and nothing has changed. Excellent ,comfortable accommodation.Service and food all excellent. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 202 and 203 but believeand comfort. all rooms are of same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    200
    134
    70
    79
See reviews for
100
307
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

In December, we required accommodation in the area as we were attending a Christmas function nearby. As the Durrant had double rooms for £70 b &b, we chose to stay there and were not disappointed. The large room was perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities (fully equipped with tea/coffee making etc - although no decaff provided).
We were slightly disappointed initially in the morning that we were not having breakfast in the restaurant - this was full with a coach party. We had to go down to "basement" dining area, my heart sank somewhat on being told - but we passed some lovely character areas as we went down a further floor to the dining area. It was a large room with plenty of windows, allowing the sun to stream in and the range of food, both self service and cooked to order was very good. Service was very good, the waiter prompt, polite and attentive to all tables.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbiefromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to stay at the Durrant House Hotel Last week for our xmas celebrations with Yesterday once more. On arriving we were met at reception by a very helpfull receptionist who gave us our keys to our room with no trouble at all.The rooms themselves were spotless,as was the rest of the hotel.The meals were excelant and spoilt for choice for breakfast and evening meals.I only wish we could have taken the managerial staff from the Royal Hotel in Kettering to show them how to run a first class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked this hotel along with the dancing group for new year.. we stayed for 3 nights.. at first we had poor service while having the keys for the room.. we arrived to the room.. it seems clean enough.. but there was lots of dirt marks.. after staying there we went to the ballroom room for our evening meal.. I requested for vegetarian options.. the supplied me with mushroom stroganoff.. it was overpowered by the garlic sauce.. not nice.. then the next day, we had breakfast and I had hash browns. Baked beans and egg.. it was lush.. then we went to the room and we found a Tampax under the bed and reported it.. the management did nothing.. eww! So we had evening meal and it was lasagne.. so I was looking coward to it.. which appears to be stroganoff in tomato sauce.. I was bit fed up.. bur ate it all.. the next day we woke up and repeated the day again and went home and peace from all of the dirt lingering around you..

Overall.. the hotel has some quality.. but filthy.. I wouldn't go there again to sleep.. but I wouldn't mind going there for a group lunch..

Advice to all.. STEER AWAY!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ps2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at The Durrant House Hotel 27/28/29 December 2012, And had a very enjoyable stay....Friendly and welcoming staff...Excellent foods at all meal times...Room 248 was Clean and comfortable.......Easy parking..Great entertainment...So thank you Durrant for a great Christmas break...x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidayfan6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We were meeting family at this hotel,as we thought we would all meet half way for a couple of drinks. BIG MISTAKE. You enter the hotel and yes it looks grand. But as soon as you enter the bar area it changes. Went up to the bar to get some drinks and the young lady that was behind the bar turned to me and said you will have to wait a moment !! Waited 10 minutes to get a drink which i was served by a young man. The tables were sticky and there were tables around us that had dirty plates on from where previous people had been. A member of my family went to the bar to get some crisps or peanuts and was told you have to get them from the vending machine !!!!!! Really. Your ment to be a hotel. Not a hostel. No management was seen around , and the bar staff were rude. Staff training needed big time. We left after one drink and that will be the last time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Starry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times before and have always been please with accommadation, meals etc. Last week experience was far from good,, to be fair we were on a Special Offer. The invitation email we receiceved stated that we would dine in the main Oak Panelled dining room, unfortunatly we were re-direced to the dining room downstairs in the dungeons, cold un-inviting with no atmosphere. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing