We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Durrant House”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend at Durrant House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times before and have always been please with accommadation, meals etc. Last week experience was far from good,, to be fair we were on a Special Offer. The invitation email we receiceved stated that we would dine in the main Oak Panelled dining room, unfortunatly we were re-direced to the dining room downstairs in the dungeons, cold un-inviting with no atmosphere. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    200
    134
    70
    79
See reviews for
100
307
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just come back from a cracking good value break at the Durrant. We were somewhat concerned about the place after reading some of the reviews however we need not have worried. The staff were all very friendly and had a happy disposition about them and the reception was very efficient. We had a fluorescent bulb go in the bedroom and after it had been reported it was quickly replaced. The food was first class, exceptionally so for a 3star hotel. The order was quickly taken and the food was delivered to the table pipping hot. Ok the rooms were a little tired but nothing that detracted from our enjoyment. It was such a good value holiday I just did not recognise some of the derogatory comments people made about the place. Would definitely go back again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank row1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and they have definitely improved on both the rooms themselves and the quality of the service.

I stayed in a standard double room - extremely comfortable bed, nice seating area with 2 sofas, TV etc, well equipped bathroom with excellent shower and all in giid decorative order and very clean.

We ate both lunch and evening meal at the hotel. Lunch in the Appledore bar was excellent value and good quality. The only downside was that they were understaffed with a single girl seemingly having tgo do everything by herself - but with an admirably chirpy manner! We had room service for our evening meal - again good value and quality food, delivered promptly - and by the same poor overworked girl!!

Finally, an excellent night's sleep was followed by a good breakfast served by welcoming staff in the Richard Dining Room - I have to say that this was much nicer than the more usual breakfast room upstairs which was on this occasion pre-booked (to my advantage).

I will definitely continue coming here!

Room Tip: Unless you really want a river view don't both paying for a 'superior double' - the stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueCose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I cannot comment on the rooms as I have not had any experience of them and after a lunch with friends I wouldn't want to. I have just seen one of the worst examples of customer service I have ever had the misfortune to experience . As the meal was organised by someone else I thought that rather than make a fuss at the time I would email the hotel to voice my opinion but there does not appear to be one on their web site. Hence the comments here.

We were a party of 15+ and the experience was as follows:-

1. Went to the bar to order a drink, requesting a slice of lemon in a diet coke. It was served without, asked again as I was paying, given change, no sign of lemon, asked a third time as barmaid went to serve another customer. You would have thought I was asking for the moon. I was not the only one to pass comment on her surly attitude.

2. We were ushered to our tables in the back of beyond downstairs away from the restaurant and bar, requested some music to create some atmosphere and waited for our meal.

3.After about 10/15 minutes We were requested to move, as the tables were set for a party that evening and asked "were we told we could sit there?!!!" Good customer service would have been to allow us to stay, have our meal and relay the tables for the evening. It would not have taken much effort or time. It would have cost a bit of time and a few tatty crackers. There was no apology for the move an we were made to feel that our party were an inconvenience.

4. We moved tables and continued to wait, there were no other diners in this area and most of the time no staff. Some of the group were fed up waiting and on the point of leaving. A member of the group made a comment to the waitress/barmaid about the long wait and was told in no uncertain terms that "the food had only been ordered 10 minutes ago. Firstly it had been a good 30/40 minutes. Secondly even if it had been only 10 minutes a more appropriate response would have been " I am sorry madam, I will go and find out how long it will be".

5. The food was mediocre and except to ask whether we wished a dessert and coffee, except for Anthony who did his best, we were basically paid no attention at all.

Durrant House is unwelcoming, and inefficient. I could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bideford hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and what a mistake we made. From the outside the hotel looks dirty, would look quite grand if it was actually white, there are brown stains all over the exterior walls, then the entrance, it smells like a dirty fish pond! Oh yeah there is a pond! The staff on reception were very helpful, but someone appeared from behind the reception and she was so ignorant and rude, put this down to her age looked late teens, but beware the girl with the brown hair....Not friendly! There was a radio station been played in the reception!!!! I mean a real treat to listen to... not! Just put a CD on..... from the 60's(may suit the decor) The place looks like a 60's throw back, the rooms are shabby more the chic, the plumping for the sinks was visible, the place needs a complete overhaul. Yeah the beds are decorating was ok but its looks like they have updated the rooms but done so in an old fashioned manner, you would imagine this hotel is owned by a 75 year old lady and she calls decides how the hotel is furnished! Desparately in need of updating, even though it looks like it has just been refurbished (in places)

The restaurant well..... lets take a trip back to 50's, your great great great Aunty Bettie would love it, its so drab, dull and miserable. The hotel sells its food in the restaurant on its £6.50 special? Really? its this a hotel or a B&B, the food was OK but nothing special for your £6.50.

Staff were OK, most were foreign, is there really a neccesity to use staff from eastern Europe when we have such high youth unemployment in the UK?

Personnaly we will never stay here again, there are far better hotels in the area which we have stayed in some lovelly ones with sea views in Westward Ho! which we will use next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of coach trip organised by GB Tours. Had a very enjoyable stay. Entertainment in the evening somewhat average. Food and service could not be faulted . Room fair size and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laniscat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

we had a wonderful 3 day break at the hotel at the start of november and were very suprised at how nice this place was.
The decoration was very nice with spacious well turned out areas.
The bar was a lovely place to sit and relax is a panelled room
The resturant which was also the breakfast room was a large very pretty room with a nice feel.
Our bedroom which we upgraded to superior for only a few pounds more was very nice and spacious with what you would expect to find in any good hotel we had a good view over the estuary. The bathroom was tastefull and well equipt.
The food was extremely good the breakfast consisted of full english, contnental , kippers and much more too much to mention. The included evening meal was a fantastic three course of a very good quality fresh cooked to order and of a ample size for my good appetite.
The staff throughout the hotel were always very polite and efficient a plessure to be around.
This hotel suprised me for been so good at a very good price the value was fantastic i will return i would recommend this hotel to anyone well worth a look

Room Tip: take superior room only ten pound more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing