We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How soon can I stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“How soon can I stay there again!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Hosts, location, food all very good. Balcony room amazing.

Peter and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babsybluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
157
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Docking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My comment in the visitors book was "speechless at the hospitality" but that covers absolutely every possible part of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble including complimentary car parking whilst we went over to Lundy and being taken to/collected from the quay at Bideford. Fabulous food, balcony room to die for, charming hosts Charlie and Chloe - oops sorry, they're the dogs, Donna and Simon I mean! I have never stayed in such a tastefully appointed 'home' let alone B & B in my life. We were treated as friends and given the run of the house and garden. I could have stayed a week and will return. In fact I shall ensure the balcony room is available before I book Lundy next time! Perfection like this doesn't come without sheer hard work - congrats to you all. Helen & Brian, Norfolk

Room Tip: Book the Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenfromDocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very warm welcome from Donna & Simon & the Dogs. Had a great time , top rate food and location one of the best . Will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: Try the terrace room if poss [We will next time]
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILANDGLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed here when going to see my dad in the local area. We have tried to get in before but it has been always fully booked. The rooms are large with a king size you could be lost on. The bathrooms are roomy and luxuriously appointed. We had the balcony room and when we went out onto the balcony in the morning we were faced with a stunning view of the river and old railway bridge. The breakfast was good with homemade bread and a choice of full or vegiterian. They do afternoon tea and a limited menu in the evening if you wish. They were getting the studio up and running when we were there and I am sure we will be using it next year. The WIFI signal was too weak in the bedroom and shared seating area and the road noise were the only issues. We shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamiegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Donna and Simon and their two dogs make fantastic hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt part of their family. Donna's cakes and evening meals are wonderful and Simon's breakfasts are great. The balcony room overlooks the river and is bright and spacious. The shower room has heated flooring which is fantastic. Even though I had a terrible cold I came home feeling relaxed and wanting to return soon. If only it was nearer we would visit every couple of months for peace, luxury as well as home from home atmosphere. Oh and of course to visit our new friends Simon and Donna

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have stayed in 'luxury guest houses' for a few years now and will happily pay a bit more for those extra's that make the stay 'luxurious' with quality accomodation, spacious comfotable rooms at the top of the list. Some use the word luxury very loosely but Riverside Cottage fully deserves this description and is one of the best we have stayed in.
Simon and Donna are delightful hosts with a lovely house in a really superb location on the rivers edge. Nothing was too much trouble, infact everything appeared so natural rather than an effort to please. Breakfasts were more than plentiful, bedrooms and bathrooms recently refurbished, spotlessly clean and well appointed. A warm friendly couple (with two lovely dogs). We would definitely stay again and highly reccommend. without question.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwr1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Wow try to book the Balcony Room if possible - stunning location!
Lovely warm welcome, cute dogs! Beautiful clean and comfortable rooms. Heavenly shower. Breakfast was delicious in lovely location. Highly recommended, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
2.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
195 reviews
12.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
559 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage Guesthouse

Property: Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Address: Riverside Cottage New Road, Bideford EX39 5HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Cottage Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riverside Cottage Guest House Coastal bed and breakfast accommodation in Devon WALK - CYCLE - KAYAK - RELAX Riverside Cottage Guest House sits directly on the bank of the River Torridge estuary in Bideford, North Devon stretching 4 acres in total along the river. The River Torridge plays an important environmental role and is a site of special scientific interest (SSSI); because of the wading birds, wildfowl and other wildlife. Bideford, is a largely unspoilt part of North Devon and attracts thousands of visitors each year who enjoy walking or cycling the South West Coast Path or the Tarka Trail. Kayaks are available free of use for a paddle up the River Torridge. Golden sandy beaches at Instow and Westwood Ho! are perfect for lazy days by the sea. RHS Rosemoor, Clovelly, Arlington Court, Hartland and Lynton and Lynmouth make ideal days out. Riverside Cottage Guest house is the perfect base for a holiday and is ideally located for accessibility to the rest of Devon or North Cornwall coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Cottage Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing