We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer. As for everything else...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spice

The Spice
Ranked #110 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good beer. As for everything else...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

...Utterly dire.

I went down to Instow for the weekend with a group of friends. Now, we're regular curry conoisseurs, dining out every month at various establishments in Bristol, so our hopes were possibly set rather higher than most. On the flipside, it meant we know what makes a curry good.

But such hopes were comprehensively dashed. Firstly, the service was slow to the point of ridiculous- Forgivable maybe for a busy Saturday night. But not "hour's wait for ANYTHING" forgivable.

Secondly, our wait was punctuated with the constant screaming of one of the member of staff's children. For a good hour and a half. Clearly, said child was exhausted and upset, but they kept them in the middle of the restaurant. Almost to the point that some of the parents amongst us felt we needed to say something and really draining after a while.

Thirdly, whilst some of the food was barely passable, most of it was utterly terrible. My friend's "mixed grill" consisted of various pieces of chicken only. My curry included a "boiled" egg, which would be more accurately described as "fossilised", and some thoroughly iffy pieces of chicken in a thoroughly mediocre sauce.

I've been to India. I've eaten paneer there, and paneer here, but none tasted like that dished up at the Spice. Horrific- Either burnt or off, it tasted, just, wrong.

After a heated negotiation, we paid a discounted bill, and left in relief.

Seriously, if you even slightly know your food, avoid this place. Having lots of Thai and Indian dishes on the same menu isn't a sign of a good restaurant.

On the plus side, the draught beer is excellent. But it's hard to mess that up.

In conclusion- Glacially slow service, fair to dire food, unpleasant eating atmosphere- Avoid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saminbrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    20
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“curry with fab view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's very convenient to have both Thai and Indian cuisine at The Spice, in order to cater for a wide variety of diner preferences. We were seated at a first floor window table with an evening view of the prettily illuminated Bideford long bridge and quay. Probably the best view in town. The food was tasty, fresh and served by friendly efficient staff. The four of us ordered a range of dishes from very spicy to very mild, with excellent draught Cobra beer or quality bottled cider. A very pleasant experience on a quiet Sunday winter evening.
There is a lift available for those who are unable to manage the stairs,and a takeaway service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went midweek with a family of 4, the food was served within good time and tasted nice without being a mmmmmm. Window view overlooking the river is beautiful but if you went on a busy weekend, there might not be too much room as not overly spacious. prices were a bit on the higher than average price side but all in all, a nice meal was had by us all

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Below par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Avoid this place if you enjoy good quality Indian food. This is just another Indian churning out mediocre food using the same stock pot for all the dishes with cheap ingredients. On the plus side the draught Cobra lager was fantastic.

Helpful?
2 Thank Junkyardjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Spice? No, not spicy enough for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Dinner for 2 midweek, a lovely treat but our meal at the Spice was ok, 6/10. Edible but bland. Why do thai food that is so bland? I could hardly taste any spices and certainly no chilli. Wont order that again. My other half chose from the indian part of the menu and that was equally unspicy.

We sat by the front window and it was cold. The window was not double glazed and the heating wasnt very good so we kept our coats on. In the back of the room a large flat screened TV was playing some awful tv programme so it gave the whole restaurant a tacky feel.

Not impressed and probably wont go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 
Great Torrington, Torridge
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to The Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing