We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most enjoyable evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverbank Bar Bistro

The Riverbank Bar Bistro
Ranked #38 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are an exciting new bistro in Bideford...great food by the river....
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a wonderful time in this friendly restaurant with my three friends. Food was very good and reasonably priced for what we got. Atmosphere was great, every table full and everyone seemed to be having a good time. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I saw a few people turned away because there weren't any free tables which is a good sign - should have booked like us! Lovely bar area where we stayed for a couple of drinks after our meal. Also great outside decking area overlooking the river - only criticism of the whole evening was that it was very cold out there for having a cigarette - maybe a portable heater would be nice! Noticed that a lot of the staff and customers knew each other so it's obviously a place that the locals use and I can see why - will definately return when we're back in bideford.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 483wendym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    28
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Meal, lovely atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our Golden Wedding was made most memorable by the attention and friendliness received from Nicky and her staff. We had a carvery and everyone was more than pleased with their meal and the service (all 30 of us!). We were not rushed at all and this was much appreciated.
Have eaten there before, as a couple, and the food was great. Well done and thanks to Nicky.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grumpy waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Five of us went for a meal, we hadn't booked however as it was early evening there was no problem. Food was delicious and in abundance however they forgot the onion rings and we had to ask for them. My main point of the review was that we won't be returning as the waitress was so disinterested and we felt we were putting her out by just being there, not a pleasant feeling. If management addressed this I would strongly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gailkivell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wasnt impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was ok! Food was average/basic! Staff werent very friendly! Very dissappointed! Shame too as we were looking forward to it! Wont be returning.....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank amie_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice lunch with friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food was quite good and service efficient but as it was a Saturday lunchtime and only one other table occupied not a true test. There were 6 of us but had we been a couple it was rather quiet and lacking in atmosphere.

Would try again but probably in the evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to The Riverbank Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing